Audio Review: Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

Posted August 11, 2012 by Jennifer in Book Review | | 2 Comments

Audio Review: Tempest Rising by Nicole PeelerTempest Rising by Nicole Peeler
Series: Jane True #1
Narrator: Kate Reinders
Published by Brilliance Audio on 11-20-10
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Format: Audiobook
Length: 9 hrs and 47 mins

Rating: B+
Narration: C-

Living in small town Rockabill, Maine, Jane True always knew she didn't quite fit in with so-called normal society. During her nightly, clandestine swim in the freezing winter ocean, a grisly find leads Jane to startling revelations about her heritage: she is only half-human.
Now, Jane must enter a world filled with supernatural creatures alternatively terrifying, beautiful, and deadly- all of which perfectly describe her new "friend," Ryu, a gorgeous and powerful vampire.
It is a world where nothing can be taken for granted: a dog can heal with a lick; spirits bag your groceries; and whatever you do, never-ever rub the genie's lamp.

 Snarky smartandfunny

 

Tempest Rising is the first book in the Jane True Series by Nicole Peeler. It’s a fun and light read. Almost every fae creature you can think of is covered in this book. And Jane finds out that she not only belongs to the human world (although she doesn’t find like she fits) she is also part of the fae world on her mother’s side.

Jane has a past that even if she could forget, her home town will not let her. After she gets sucked into a world she never knew about, she meets the sexy Ryu. Ryu is in town to investigate a murder and he just happens to be fae. In fact Jane learns that he is a vampire but not the kind she has read about or seen in movies.

Jane jumps at the opportunity to take a “vacation” from her life to learn more about her fae with her new hot friend Ryu. Jane deserves some fun and sexy time after all.

Jane is always having an inner fight with her libido and her brain. But when it comes to Ryu, the libido wins about 95% time.

Jane starting learning that her love of swimming is because her mother is a Selkies, a seal shifter. Jane hopes while she is visiting the land of the fae she will find out more about the mother that left her and her father when she was six. But she has no luck in the family reunion department; but instead learns that some of the fae hates half-breeds like her.

Tempest Rising is full of funny and witty characters will just enough sass. I will be visiting Jane and her friends soon when I read, Tracking the Tempest.

Fans of Charaline Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse, Molly Harper’s Jane Jameson and MaryJanice Davidson’s Queen Betsy series will want to check out this fun and sassy read.

Narration Note: I have book one in paperback but decided to give the audio book a try. BIG mistake. I didn’t care for the narrator at all. She said as though she was 12 years old and she didn’t change her voice much for different characters which made it hard at times to know who was speaking. I will read the rest of the books in the series.

signature
Jennifer
Find Me

Jennifer

Owner/Blogger at The Book Nympho
My name is Jennifer (not Jen!) and I live in the South. I coexist with my husband of 15 years, our 11-year-old son and two cats. I'm finishing my BA in English this Spring (no I do not want to be a teacher). Before majoring in English I would not touch anything labeled "classic" but I have enjoyed a few along the way in my courses. While I hated to read growing up I am now avid book reader and audiobook listener. I love rejecting reality one book at a time. I only read fiction with my favorite (at least to date) genres include: most romance (paranormal, contemporary, D/s, BDSM, M/M)Urban Fantasy, and a few YA (mostly paranormal from authors I read in the adult genre but I'm explaining after enjoying a few contemporary YA novels in my college courses).
Jennifer
Find Me

2 responses to “Audio Review: Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

  1. I need to try this one, heard great things about it. Everyone keep telling me about it, so glad you enjoyed it. thanks for the review!