A Great Small Town Romance, The Buckhorn Legacy by Lori Foster

Posted May 1, 2014 by Jennifer in Book Review | , | 2 Comments

A Great Small Town Romance, The Buckhorn Legacy by Lori FosterThe Buckhorn Legacy by Lori Foster
Series: Buckhorn Brothers #5
Published by Harlequin on October 23rd 2012
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 299 pages
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads
four-stars

Emma Clark is back in Buckhorn. Once she was the girl with too much makeup and a bad reputation—and she tried everything she could to get Casey Hudson into bed. He was the cutest guy in town, and the only one who seemed to really care about her.As a hot-blooded teen it was hard for Casey to resist Emma. Now, eight years later, it's impossible. But Emma is doing her best to shut him out—and Casey needs to convince her that the attraction that burns between them isn't just leftover teenage lust, but his real love for a real woman….

Well-Written sexy1 Sweet

I love Lori Foster’s Buckhorn Brothers series. When I’m in the mood for sweet and sexy small town romance it’s one of my go to series.

I first meet Casey when he was young in his father’s book, Sawyer that’s include in the novel Buckhorn Beginnings that contains book 1, Sawyer and book 2, Morgan.

Casey was raised by his father and uncles, seeing first hand how the ladies of Buckhorn swooned over all the yummy men in the family. Casey got his fair share of the sexy alpha genes and Emma was drawn to them when they were teens.

But Casey tried to be the friend that Emma needed instead of another notch on Emma’s belt. He always had a feeling that Emma didn’t have a great home life and when she is dropped at Casey’s door step in the middle of the night by her father, he finds out it is worse than he thought. That was the night that Emma broke Casey’s heart.

Eight years later Emma comes back to Buckhorn to visit her sick father and Casey’s feelings for Emma return to hit him hard.

I really enjoy friends to lovers romance when it’s written well and Lori Foster does it great! She shows us Emma and Casey journey  from teens with a major crush to adults that are completely in love. I was rooting for Emma and Chase to have a HEA after the ending of Jordan’s story in Forever Buckhorn. And I really enjoyed the bonus romance between Emma’s friend Damon and Cecily, one of the local Buckhorn ladies.

Recommendations:

Fans of Shannon Stacey’s Kowalski Family and Lisa Kleypas’s Travis Family series will enjoy Lori Fosters’ Buckhorn Brothers series.

About Lori Foster

Since first publishing in January 1996, Lori Foster has become a Waldenbooks, Borders, USA Today, Publisher’s Weekly and New York Times bestselling author. Lori has published through a variety of houses, including Kensington, St. Martin’s, Berkley, Silhouette and Samhain. She is currently with Harlequin.

Lori believes it’s important to give back to the community as much as possible, and for that reason she ran special contests in conjunction with a publisher, facilitating many first sales for new authors. She routinely organizes events among authors and readers to gather donations for various organizations.

Lori hosts a very special annual “Reader & Author” event in West Chester, Ohio. Proceeds from the event have benefited many worthy causes, including the Hamilton County YWCA Battered Women’s Shelter, the Animal Adoption Foundation, The Conductive Learning Center for children with spina bifida and cerebral palsy, and The One Way Farm, Children’s Home.

Jennifer
Find Me

Jennifer

Owner/Blogger at The Book Nympho
My name is Jennifer (not Jen!) and I live in the South. I coexist with my husband of 15 years, our 11-year-old son and two cats. I'm finishing my BA in English this Spring (no I do not want to be a teacher). Before majoring in English I would not touch anything labeled "classic" but I have enjoyed a few along the way in my courses. While I hated to read growing up I am now avid book reader and audiobook listener. I love rejecting reality one book at a time. I only read fiction with my favorite (at least to date) genres include: most romance (paranormal, contemporary, D/s, BDSM, M/M)Urban Fantasy, and a few YA (mostly paranormal from authors I read in the adult genre but I'm explaining after enjoying a few contemporary YA novels in my college courses).
Jennifer
Find Me

Latest posts by Jennifer (see all)


2 responses to “A Great Small Town Romance, The Buckhorn Legacy by Lori Foster

    • Jennifer (The Book Nympho)

      I really enjoy this series. I think you’ll like the other stories too.