Fun, Snarky and a little Sexy! The Accidental Werewolf by Dakota Cassidy

Posted May 19, 2014 by Jennifer in Book Review | | 2 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fun, Snarky and a little Sexy! The Accidental Werewolf by Dakota CassidyThe Accidental Werewolf by Dakota Cassidy
Series: Accidentals #1
Narrator: Meredith Mitchell
Published by Tantor Audio on 04/10/14
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: Audiobook
Length: 10 hrs and 14 mins
Amazon | Audio | Goodreads
three-half-stars

When Marty Andrews gets bitten by a mangy mutt while walking her teacup poodle, her blond hair darkens, the hair on her legs starts growing at an alarming rate, and her mood swings put her dream job as a sales rep for Bobbie-Sue Cosmetics in serious jeopardy.

Then a drool-worthy man shows up at her door claiming that he accidentally bit Marty. And since he's a werewolf, she is now, too. Thinking Keegan Flaherty is clearly insane, Marty refuses to believe a word until a kidnapping makes her realize there's more at stake than just her highlights. And she must put her out-of-control life in the hands of the man who makes her blood run wild in more ways than one...

What I liked:

The humor and mystery. Dakota Cassidy is a funny lady in person and some of her humor shined through in The Accidental Werewolf.  If you’re in the mood for a funny romance with a heroine that gets accidentally turned into a werewolf and loves selling cosmetics door to door then you’ll love Marty.

What Didn’t Quite Work For Me:

The sex scenes were not as hot as they could have been. Between the writing and narration they were like listening to someone reading an owner’s manual. It was a shame really. Marty and Keegan had a hot make out scene in the barn but once it came to the real sex it was all non dialogue. She did this, he did that. No talking between Marty and Keegan. If there was a little “pillow talk” during the acts it could have been steamy.

Narration:

I enjoyed Meredith Mitchell’s interpretation of  The Accidental Werewolf and the cast of characters as a whole. There was a few things like the sex scenes that was a little too dry but I feel like as I continue the series Mitchell’s narration will grow more on me. I can’t wait to hear how she performs Nina’s story.

Will I continue the series?

Yes. I already have Nina’s story, Accidentally Dead on my phone to listen to.

Similar Books:

Fans of MaryJanice Davidson and Michele Bardsley will enjoy Dakota Cassidy.

 

Jennifer
Find Me

Jennifer

Owner/Blogger at The Book Nympho
I coexist with my husband of 15 years, our 11-year-old son and two chilled cats in the Deep South.

After 17 years I've finally finished my BA in English (no I do not want to be a teacher). Before majoring in English I would not have touched anything labeled "classic", but I have enjoyed a few along the way in my college career.

While I hated to read growing up, I am now an avid book reader and audiobook listener. I love rejecting reality one book at a time. I only read fiction within my favorite (at least to date) genres which include: most romance (paranormal, contemporary, D/s, BDSM, M/M)Urban Fantasy, and a few YA (mostly PNR or UF from favorite adult authors, but I'm slowly stepping out of my comfort zone after enjoying a few contemporary YA novels in adolescent literature class I took).
Jennifer
Find Me

2 responses to “Fun, Snarky and a little Sexy! The Accidental Werewolf by Dakota Cassidy