The Sexy One by Lauren Blakely

Posted November 4, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | | 5 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Sexy One by Lauren BlakelyThe Sexy One by Lauren Blakely
Narrator: Sebastian York, Andi Arndt
Published by Lauren Blakely Books on October 7th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Format: Audiobook
Length: 5 hours and 12 minutes
Source: Author
Amazon | Audio | Goodreads
four-stars
three-half-flames

Let me count the ways why falling into forbidden love is not my wisest move…
1. She works with me every single day.
Did I mention she's gorgeous, sweet, kind and smart?
2. She works in my home.
Playing with my five-year-old daughter. Teaching my little girl. Cooking for my princess. Which means…
3. She's the nanny.
And that makes her completely off-limits…But it doesn’t stop me from wanting her. All of her.

***

The other nannies in this city don't call him the Sexy One for nothing. My boss, the amazingly wonderful single father to the girl I take care of every day is ridiculously hot, like movie star levels with those arms, and those eyes, and that body. Not to mention, the way he dotes on his little girl melts me all over. But what really makes my knees weak are the times when his gaze lingers on me. In secret. When no one else is around.

I can't risk my job for a chance at something more…can I? But I don’t know how to resist him much longer either…

icon BOOKLOVE  icon fave narrator  icon auto-buy
 

A sexy and sweet romance about “forbidden” love between a hot single dad and his nanny. Simon and Abby make a great team in raising his young daughter. Their romance starts with instant-a-lust they neither will act on but over time the lust turns to love and they can’t fight it anymore. See what happens with Lauren Blakely brings these two fun characters together in The Sexy One.

The dual narration really works for this title. Sebastian York is a favorite of mine and he has narrated many of Blakley’s titles and always does an amazing job. The Sexy One is the first I’ve listened to by Blakley that switches POVs from the male to female characters (all the others I’ve read was told from the male POV) so it makes perfect sense they would add a female narrator to voice the parts of heroine’s POVs. Andi Arndt did a great job with Abby’s character. This is my first experience with Arndt’s work and I’ll definitely look out for more books narrated by her.

Fans of Emma Chase and Christina Lauren will love Lauren Blakely.


Here’s a cheat sheet for the reading order and the relationships of Lauren Blakely’s books sent within the same “world”. They can all be read as stand alone but they are more enjoyable (I think!) if you read them as a series and in the order, they are published. The characters are connected through family or friendships and some of past characters makes cameos.

 

Reading order:
Upcoming titles:

Full Package (January 9th 2017)

The Hot One (March 2017)

Joy Stick (June 1st 2017)

 

About Andi Arndt

Andi’s relatively neutral US English accent is a product of a Minnesota childhood, New Jersey high school years, and Maryland/DC/Virginia adulthood. Firm grounding in both theatre and broadcasting led to full-time work in voice over.

About Lauren Blakely

Since self-publishing her debut romance novel CAUGHT UP IN US three years ago, Lauren Blakely has sold more than 1 million books. She is known for her sexy contemporary romance style that’s full of heat, heart and humor.

A devout fan of cake, comedy and canines, Lauren has plotted entire novels while walking her four-legged friends. She lives in California with her husband, children, and dogs.

With nine New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller List more than three dozen times.

Review Breakdown
Characters
four-stars
Narration (Audio)
four-stars
Overall: four-stars
Jennifer
Find Me

Jennifer

Owner/Blogger at The Book Nympho
I coexist with my husband of 15 years, our 11-year-old son and two chilled cats in the Deep South.

After 17 years I've finally finished my BA in English (no I do not want to be a teacher). Before majoring in English I would not have touched anything labeled "classic", but I have enjoyed a few along the way in my college career.

While I hated to read growing up, I am now an avid book reader and audiobook listener. I love rejecting reality one book at a time. I only read fiction within my favorite (at least to date) genres which include: most romance (paranormal, contemporary, D/s, BDSM, M/M)Urban Fantasy, and a few YA (mostly PNR or UF from favorite adult authors, but I'm slowly stepping out of my comfort zone after enjoying a few contemporary YA novels in adolescent literature class I took).
Jennifer
Find Me

Latest posts by Jennifer (see all)

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


5 responses to “The Sexy One by Lauren Blakely

  1. Did YOU make that cheat sheet?!?! I agree with Jen, it IS awesome!!! I needed it and I might have to reference your review when I write mine!! I had to buy this book as soon as I was done with Well Hung b/c I was so “taken” with the teaser they put into Well Hung. Now THAT is good marketing!!!

    I didn’t know that this was the first time Sebastian had a female voice paired with his, let alone an alternating POV, in Blakely’s series. I guess if I paid attention, I would have noticed. I did like having both POVs in this book, that’s for sure!!!

  2. What an awesome cheat sheet! I bought BIG ROCK back when everyone was talking about it. It’s on my kindle, waiting for me to find time! These books sound fabulous!