Category: Book Review

Blog Tour REVIEW: Sapphire by Jeffe Kennedy

Posted November 2, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

SapphireBy Jeffe KennedyPublisher: Carina PressDate Published: October 24, 2011RATING: A successful executive, M. Taylor Hamilton is on track with her ten-year plan. Too bad her personal life consists of hitting the gym and grocery shopping. Enter the seductive Adam Kirliss. They may have a working relationship, but everything changes at an office party when he handcuffs her to the rail of a yacht. Taylor writes the adventure off as too much champagne, but when Adam challenges her to a date, she agrees to meet up with him. And follow his rules. They share a night of exquisite intimacy, brimming with both pain and pleasure. But afterwards, fearful of losing her heart, Taylor pulls back emotionally. Adam is determined to prove that she longs for the […]


Hellforged by Nancy Holzner

Hellforged by Nancy Holzner

Posted October 25, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

For most of Hellforged, the cast is pretty small. We don’t get to see much of the secondary characters since Vicky spends a large part of the book in Wales studying with her Aunt Mab.   The first part Hellforged is in Boston and there is something killing the zombies in Deadtown. And something even weirder is going on with Vicky’s roommate, Juliet. Vicky’s not sure if two things are connected and asks for info from Detective Daniel about the zombie cases.   Speaking of Daniel, things between him and Vicky are still just friendly until she tells him that she is leaving town for a few weeks. He gives her a toe curling kiss to remember him by while she is gone.   Kane […]


Review: Mind Over Monsters by Jennifer Harlow

Review: Mind Over Monsters by Jennifer Harlow

Posted October 19, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

Mind Over Monsters is very well written with characters I love and can’t wait to read more about them. I’ve not read many books where the author titles each chapter but I really like it, cause it sets the tone for what’s coming up and with a chapter entitled “A Machete Is a Girl’s Best Friend” you know that the book is freaky funny. Mind Over Monsters is a great urban fantasy read with mystery, some gore (it’s going to get messy when you start cutting up zombies), and there is also a little romance, that looks like it could turn out to be a really good triangle between Beatrice, Will and Oliver. Think X-Men with paranormal creatures, where the guys are monsters too. The […]


Graphic Novel Review: The Laughing Corpse Vol. 1

Posted October 17, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: The Laughing Corpse, Volume 1: Animatorby Laurell K. Hamilton, Ron Lim (Illustrator)Buy: Amazon / B&N / Book DepoRating: Anita Blake is back in the second volume of Marvel’s comic adaptation of Laurell K. Hamilton’s bestselling series of novels! What would you do for a million dollars? Would you resurrect a two-and-one-half-century old corpse? Harold Gaynor poses just that question to Animator and part-time vampire hunter, Anita Blake… Plus, some crime scenes are even too horrible for a vampire slayer, and the worse they are, the more questions they raise. Collects Anita Blake: The Laughing Corpse – Book One #1-5. REVIEW: I really enjoyed the early Anita Blake novels so I’m reliving them through the graphic novels. The story is the same as the […]


REVIEW: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Posted October 12, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

   Frankensteinby Mary ShelleyMy Copy: Rented TextbookRating: This “Norton Critical Edition” of “Frankenstein” contains the 1818 first edition text. Only the obvious typographical errors have been corrected. The book also includes writings by Mary Shelley, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Lord Byron and John William Polidori, enabling the reader to place the novel in its historical context. Six 19th-century responses to the novel illustrate contemporary reactions, whilst 12 modern critical essays cover the different aspects (psychoanalytic, mythic, feminist) of the work. REVIEW: I know it’s a classic and usually as a rule of thumb for me I don’t touch anything that is a “classic”. To me classic equals boring. If it had not been a required read for my World Lit class I would have thrown the […]


Deadtown by Nancy Holzner

Deadtown by Nancy Holzner

Posted October 4, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 5 Comments

Fans of Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series and Chole Neill’s Chicagoland Vampires series will want to check out Deadtown by Nancy Holzner. It has the same type of feel to it, the heroine, Victory Vaughn, is snarky and kicks ass. Oh and she’s a shifter that has a kind-of-sort-of boyfriend that’s a werewolf. Her roommate is a vamp, Juliet, like as in Romeo and Juliet. She has a teenage zombie as a sidekick and she just happens to hunt demons. After a mutated plague hit Boston, it turned some of the populace into zombies. Now a large part of Boston is called Deadtown and all non-humans are forced to live in that area. The non-humans are seen as monsters and don’t have the same rights […]


Book Tour REVIEW + GIVEAWAY: Tie Me Up by Lauren Hawkeye

Posted October 3, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

TIE ME UPBy Lauren HawkeyePub date: October 1, 2011ISBN: 978-1-426-88547-1RATING: Barbara always thought of Ethan as her little brother’s annoying best friend, and she was sure he just considered her his friend’s nerdy big sister. Until the hot night after her brother’s wedding. Alone in the heat, it’s clear Ethan sees her in a way she never saw herself: as a sexy, sensual woman. And for the first time, Barbara feels ready to break free from the painful memories that have haunte her for too long—by exploring her passion for Ethan…Book two of Lauren Hawkeye’s Erotic Me series. REVIEW:Lauren Hawkeye really knows how to balance romance with erotica. Tie Me Up is the second short in the Erotic Me series and it reads like another […]


REVIEW: Chosen by Denise Grover Swank

Posted September 27, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

Chosen(Chosen Series Book #1)by Denis Grover SwankParanormal ThrillerBUY: Amazon / B&N MY COPY: Received for ReviewRATING: Everything Emma Thompson owns fits in a suitcase she moves from one roach infested motel to another. She and Jake, her five year old son who can see the future, are running from the men intent on taking him. Emma will do anything to protect him even when it means accepting the help of a stranger named Will. Jake insists she needs Will, but Emma’s never needed help before. And even though she’s learned to trust her son, it doesn’t mean she trusts Will.REVIEW: Denise Grover Swank’s Chosen is a thriller with action, romance and a paranormal twist. It grabbed my attention from the beginning and kept it until the end. Swank does […]