Author: Amanda Carlson

Ante Up & All In by Amanda Carlson

Posted May 21, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | , , , , , , | 3 Comments

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ante Up & All In by Amanda CarlsonAnte Up by Amanda Carlson
Series: Sin City Collectors #3
Narrator: Emma Wilder
Published by Amanda Carlson Inc on 05-11-16
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: Audiobook
Length: 4 hrs and 3 mins
Source: Author
Audio | Goodreads
three-half-stars
three-flames

Diesel Jones is a shifter with moon issues. His dream of becoming a Sin City Collector has lingered in the shadows because of his inability to control himself. But when Louie Fiore decides to test his merit, Diesel jumps at the chance. When he finds he has to come up against an incubus, painful issues from the past resurface, and he has only one thing on his mind: kill.

Sofia Cabrera is the new witch in town, and she's more than anyone bargained for. She finds herself drawn to Diesel, the sexy shifter, the first moment she lays eyes on him. When she finds herself the target of an organization of incubi, Diesel comes to her aid unexpectedly, and they end up fighting the threat together.

I’ve had Ante Up on my TBR list since reading Aces Wild, and the Sin Collector series is on my list to finish up by the end of the year. I’ve enjoyed the two novellas I’ve read so far (the other by Kristen Painter) so when I saw that Amanda Carlson’s novellas in the series were now available on audio I thought it was a perfect time to finish up her stories in the series.

While Ante Up features a new couple, Diesel, and Sofia, they weren’t new to the series. They made cameos in Aces Wild but now it’s their turn to get a HEA. Diesel is a hot wolf shifter who had troubles controlling himself during the full moon. Sofia is a sexy witch, who has been mooning over Diesel since they met. A dangerous enemy from Diesel’s past puts the two closer together as he has to help protect Sofia. One thing leads to another and the couple is making their attraction known to the each other, but they have to put the sexy times aside to take care of the bad guy.

Ante Up might be novella sized but it’s full-sized on the action and romance. Carlson gets the job done in a few pages that some can’t do with a full novel. It was fun getting a look at the first couple in the series, Neve and Jake. We also get a glance at the next couple for All In, Diesel’s brother, Luke and Sofia’s best friend, Ginger. While you can read Ante Up as a stand alone I recommend reading Aces Wild too, it helps set up the world and characters so you don’t have the instant-love thing going on.

Emma Wilder did a good job with the female characters but like many female narrators, she didn’t do some of the male characters justice, but she hit the snark and sexy levels just right. While she didn’t blow me away with her narration I’ll give her another try with the next book in the series before I discount her totally.

 

 


I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ante Up & All In by Amanda CarlsonAll In by Amanda Carlson
Series: Sin City Collectors #5
Narrator: Emma Wilder
Published by Amanda Carlson Inc on 05-11-16
Length: 3 hrs and 47 mins
Audio | Goodreads
four-half-stars
three-flames

Ginger Elliot is a succubus on the run. She's in danger of being Collected, but her first priority is to find her brother. Even though she operates the biggest spy network in the supernatural world, it may not be enough to free her from the crimes she's been accused of committing. But keeping her deteriorating condition from the sexy shifter who's accompanying her is getting trickier by the hour.

Luke Jones is on a mission to save the succubus he's fallen for - not only from her brother but from herself. The two have been on the incubus' trail for weeks and finally have him backed into a corner. Luke knows Ginger is in trouble, but he has no idea how to save her.

All In is the cream of the crop in Carlson’s novellas for the Sin City Collectors’ series. Luke and Ginger’s story just hit all my paranormal romance fan buttons.

  • No instat-a-love
  • No instat-a-lust
  • No love triangle
  • Low-level drama
  • No alphahole

 

I mentioned low-level drama – – Luke hates sex demons, Ginger is a succubus, but Luke isn’t the one with the issues over her being a succubus. Ginger’s dad was a self-loathing sex demon and it took a toll on the family. Ginger has a major hang up about being a succubus and doesn’t think anyone could truly love her. So when Luke starts to flirt with her, she freaks out and thinks that she had used her sex demon magic on him.

They get close when Luke helps Ginger find her brother and clear her name at the same time. Ginger’s bro has been under the influenced by a monster that was responsible for killing Luke’s dad. Ginger is hoping to bring him home and get her family back together.

Luke is a great leading man. He’s strong but not pushy. Sexy but not sleazy.

Ginger is a great leading woman. She’s strong but not bitchy. Sexy but doesn’t really know it.

While their attraction was there when they met, their relationship was a slow build, like a pot set to simmer on the stove. Once it gets hot enough it’s going to start boiling.

When I listened to Ante Up I was about 75% sure that I had listened to Emma Wilder narrator under another name, but because the speed was faster I thought I had set the audiobook speed to 1.25 then I checked and nope it was set at the normal 1.00 speed. I rarely change my listening speed but while listening to Ante Up I thought about changing it to 0.75 to slow Emma’s voice down. I stayed true though and when I listened to All In I didn’t notice the faster speed of her reading. I guess since I’ve listened to her narrator other books (I’m 95% sure I have now) at a slower pace, the faster pace threw me off a bit. I don’t like new listeners will notice but the next time I listen to her narrate under her other name I’ll think she’s reading too slow. LOL

So long story short, I enjoyed Emma’s narration of All In and will continue to listen to her work.

All In felt me wanting more! I hope that Amanda Carlson writes at least one more story featuring the were-panther Raoul that works with Ginger and Cassie, the elemental that’s mentioned at the end that is assigned to find him.

 

About Amanda Carlson

Amanda is a Minnesota girl, born and bred. She started writing stories about teenage girls and their social missteps while in high school. She’s been writing for over ten years, but began writing fiction in earnest after her second child was born.

Her books are face-paced, filled with action and adventure. Her Jessica McClain urban fantasy series is published by ORBIT US & UK, a Hachette book imprint. Her Sin City Collectors series is her foray into paranormal romance, and they are hot and action packed. She lives in Minneapolis, with her husband and three kids.

Review Breakdown
Characters
three-half-stars
Narration (Audio)
three-half-stars
Overall: three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


A Romp-o-licious Snippet from ANTE UP by Amanda Carlson

A Romp-o-licious Snippet from ANTE UP by Amanda Carlson

Posted August 11, 2014 by Jennifer in Stomp vs Romp 2014 | 8 Comments

  A sexy snippet from ANTE UP, the third installment of the Sin City Collectors series. ANTE UP releases on 8/18/14. ACES WILD, the first by Amanda, and QUEEN OF HEARTS, by Kristen Painter are both available now.        Sofia Cabrera is having a very naughty dream about her shifter. Or is she?   Sofia woke with a start, panting. Her brain felt hazy, but she chalked it up to lack of sleep. She hadn’t gotten a lot in the last few weeks. The move had consumed most of her time, and she was bone-tired. Her house was well warded, and no alarms had been triggered, so she turned and nestled deeper under the covers, pulling her soft duvet cover around her for […]


My Money is on the Hellhound! Aces Wild by Amanda Carlson

My Money is on the Hellhound! Aces Wild by Amanda Carlson

Posted August 11, 2014 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

Amanda Carlson can not only write a great Urban Fantasy novel she proves she can write a Paranormal Romance novel as well. Carlson manages to fit an entertaining story with strong characters into a novella that feels like a full length novel. I was not left wanting for anything with ACES WILD. I love the idea of the Sin City Collectors series. Each novella will be written by different authors and Amanda Carlson has started the series out with a bang with her super sexy hellhound , Jake and her kick ass dhampir, Neve. I’ve not read much PNR or UF book with hellhounds or dhampir  so it was refreshing to read about supes that’s not been over done in the genres. Neve and Jake are collectors which […]


Audio Review: Cold Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Audio Review: Cold Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Posted October 16, 2013 by Jennifer in Book Review | 5 Comments

  WOW. Jessica and gang doesn’t get a chance to take a breath. Jessica finally has her mate Rourke by her side. But it’s no honeymoon. They are stilling hitting the ground running after the events in Hot Blooded. Now that Rourke is safe the gang has to focus on saving Jessica’s dad. While keeping Jessica out of the grasp of what seems like every supe group in the world. Vamps, witches, demons, ghosts and more. Cold Blooded is a supernatural alphabet soup with every little werewolf action this time around. While Cold Blooded it non stop action I would like to have seen more down time for the gang. I felt like Jessica and Rourke needed more time to really build their mate bond […]


Review: Hot Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Review: Hot Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Posted April 22, 2013 by Jennifer in Book Review | 7 Comments

Quickie Thought: Amanda Carlson is not a one hit wonder. Hot Blooded is nice addition to the Jessica McClain series. The Heroine: Jessica is a freak in the supe world. She is the only female werewolf and she’s only been able to shift for about a week or so where as other werewolves can shift once they hit puberty. Jessica maybe a late bloomer but she is becoming a bad ass fast! The Plot: Three werewolves, two vamps and a human walk into a bar….. Picture this motley crew on a journey Lord of the Rings style with Rourke being “my precious”.  Jessica leads her brother, Tyler and friend, Danny on a quest to save her new-found mate, Rourke. The werewolves get help from sibling vamps that’s on loan from the Vampire Queen. […]


Review: Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Review: Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Posted September 4, 2012 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

  With Blooded being the appetizer; Full Blooded is the main course. Jessica is a one of a kind, being the only female werewolf. She is even odder since she didn’t shift once she hit puberty like the other werewolves. Jessica lived her first 26 years of life as a human that was raised by wolves.But after leaving the Pack life and living a normal human life for the last 7 years she finds herself in the middle of a very painful shift. No one including Jessica’s dad, the Alpha of the North U.S. Pack has no idea what this means and why it’s taken so long for the shift to happen especially since they have no guide-book to go by with her being the only one of her […]


Review: Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Review: Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Posted September 4, 2012 by Jennifer in Book Review | 8 Comments

  Blooded reads more like a really long prologue that makes you salivating for chapter one. Amanda Carlson hits you with a stunning amount of greatness in a small amount of pages; with great world and character building. Most prequels you can get away without reading going into a series but I highly recommend starting with Blooded. It gives you an understanding of the hell that Jessica grew up in by being the only female born to a wolf. She had to fight for her life; she might not be a werewolf but she can hold her own and if you miss reading the novella you will be rob going into Full Blooded.