Author: Jessica Lemmon

Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted August 2, 2017 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway, Stomp vs Romp 2017 | | 0 Comments

Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon

Eye Candy by Jessica LemmonEye Candy by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Real Love #1
Published by Loveswept on July 25th 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Goodreads
three-half-stars
three-half-flames

Jacqueline: As an adult woman--and the vice president of a marketing firm--I shouldn't be waiting by my office window to ogle the mystery man who jogs by every morning at 11:45. Sure, he's a gorgeous, perfect specimen of the human race, but I can't bring myself to hit on a total stranger. However, my best friend-slash-colleague Vince Carson thinks I should do more than talk to the guy. In fact, he's borderline obsessive about "getting me laid." (His words.) But the more time we spend together, the more it's clear: The one I'm falling for is Vince.

Vince: Jackie Butler's got it bad for some pompous, over-pumped A-hole who struts his stuff past her window. That doesn't bother me. I know she deserves nice things. What does bother me is that she friend-zoned me big-time last year, so I can't ask her out myself. But what if I set her up with Mr. Steroids? Then, when he breaks her heart, I can swoop in and save her like the nice guy I am. Everything's going according to plan . . . until we share a ridiculously epic kiss. And suddenly anything is possible.

I have a weakness for romances with friends-to-lovers and Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon hit the spot!

Eye Candy is about two best friends, Jackie and Vince. They share titles as vice-president at a marketing firm, they share pizza, beer and movie nights. They also share the fact they both are divorced and are gun shy about getting back into the dating world. Vince has done the “guy thing” and had a few one-night stands over the years to get over his ex-wife, but he is ready for more with his BFF, Jackie. She on the other hand has dragged her feet in the dating world and he doesn’t want to be her rebound.

Vince comes up with a plan to get Jackie out there dating again in hopes that she will see the sexy runner who runs by their office is not the guy of her dreams but Vince is. Here’s where the story gets interesting and long. The conflict is fun at first, but then it drags a little (for me). There’s a time when I want to slap both Vince and Jackie. They are clearly in love with each other, but their ex-spouses did a real number on them and they have a hard time over coming their issues. Understandable, but most of their problems could’ve been solved by a conversation. Most romance novels fall under this trope so I won’t hold it against Eye Candy.

In the end the besties get their “stuff” together to work toward a HEA. The journey from friends-to-lovers was enjoyable to read and these two have chemistry that burned up the pages once they were on the same page with their “relationship”.

Jessica Lemmon did a great job teasing me with Vince’s male BFF, Davis’ own issues with dating that I can’t wait to read his story in book 2, Arm Candy releasing September 5th 2017.

 

 

 

Excerpt 

VINCE

Admittedly, giving Jackie advice on how to get a guy to sleep with her is not my best plan.

“Okay, Butler,” I say, fully focused on Jackie now. “Let’s hear it.”

She stops scribbling on the napkin in front of her, and I bite back a smile. Since I’ve given her a few tips, she has been frantically taking notes. She’s a planner. I’ve always been more go-with-the-flow.

She reads over her notes, squinting in concentration, her lips moving as she reads. Then those golden brown eyes hit mine and she gives me a resolute nod. “I’m ready.”

Her tongue swipes pink lips, making them glisten and making me regret again the route I’ve chosen to take with her. Part of me concedes I could call it off and tell her what I really want, but I know her. She’s barely convinced she can ask a dude out, so her best guy friend throwing a date on the table would be an automatic no.

“Let’s see it,” I say, kind of excited to see what she’s come up with.

She takes the empty seat next to me and leans heavily on an elbow, fist under her chin. “Hi. I’m Jackie.”

I blink several times in quick succession at the transformation from my scatterbrained best friend to a gorgeous woman giving me bedroom eyes. She’s pretending. I’d do well to remember that.

“Vince,” I introduce.

She straightens in her chair and frowns. “Shouldn’t you pretend to be J.T.?”

“I’m not that good of an actor, Butler.” And I’m not pretending to be that jerk.

“Fine.” She rolls her eyes, then slides into seduction mode so swiftly I find myself impressed. She’s better at this than she’s let on. “Do you have a last name, Vince?”

“You know my last name, Butler.”

“Call me Jackie.” She gives me a slow bat of her lashes.

My smile is real, and when I lean closer, I don’t even do it on purpose. “Well, Jackie. Last names are irrelevant, don’t you think?”

Her chest lifts as she takes a breath, and I’m not shy about checking out her cleavage, exposed down the V of her shirt. Normally I wouldn’t look so obviously, but this is a game. Our game.

“That’s very assuming of you, Mr. No Last Name.” She quirks her lips in that way she has, and my smile broadens. “But let’s say”—she moves her half-full wineglass onto the cocktail napkin she wrote on—“for argument’s sake, you’re right, that last names are irrelevant.” She runs the tip of her finger along the rim of her glass like she’s doing it absentmindedly.

She’s doing it on purpose. I can tell.

Damn. She’s good.

“We should have a real date before making plans, don’t you think?” she asks, her eyes on mine.

“Yes.” Hell, yes. “Dinner, at the very least.”

“And then if dinner works out . . .” She lets that statement hang and my heart beats triple time as I wait for what comes next. “We can talk about dessert.”

“We can talk about dessert now.” I’m transfixed on her and the idea of exploring our new dynamic.

Ohmygod.” Her eyes go wide. “Would he say that?”

I give myself a mental shake when I realize I was caught up in the conversation. It was one I wanted to be real, and she was thinking about Running Man.

“Probably,” I say, the spell broken. “Guys are assholes. Like I said.”

I lean back in my chair, find a TV, and stare blankly.

“But if that’s the case, I’ll have to have sex with him sooner than I planned.”

“No, you don’t, Jackie.” I hear the anger in my own voice. Because . . . “You don’t have to have sex with anyone. You could go to drinks, dinner, and dessert with this guy—you could end the night with tonsil hockey on your front porch or his, and you can still say no.”

She purses her lips. I hate the idea of her kissing that jackass. No matter what kind of person he is—even if he’s a volunteer firefighter who raises orphaned squirrels so they can perform at the local senior center—I hate him.

“Tell me you know that,” I say.

“I know I don’t have to. That’s not what I meant. I don’t want to chicken out. I want to get the first one over with. Like you did.”

I tip my head back and groan aloud. I can’t help it. I’m the example for her return to the dating world? Much as I don’t want to admit it, fair is fair. I salved my wounds with girls like Polly, so why can’t Jackie do it with J.T.? Jackie’s my friend and I care about her. I can’t make a double standard now.

“Besides, he’s really hot,” she says, her face going glowy.

“Spare me.”

 

 


 

Giveaway

(a Mrs. Fields Mini Ribbon box ($19.99-$22.99 value) (U.S. only))
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Jessica Lemmon

A former job-hopper, Jessica Lemmon resides in Ohio with her husband and rescue dog. She holds a degree in graphic design currently gathering dust in an impressive frame. When she’s not writing super-sexy heroes, she can be found cooking, drawing, drinking coffee (okay, wine), and eating potato chips.


Return of the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon

Return of the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted May 18, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 0 Comments

     Rock star Asher Knight has just learned he has a 3-year old son by the woman who derailed his relationship with his agent, Gloria Shields. He’s back in Evergreen Cove to establish a relationship with his son and hopefully get the one with Gloria back on track. But she’s a big commitment challenge and he’s got his work cut out for him.   Both Asher and Gloria are fascinating characters, she especially. Gloria’s tough, highly skilled and an infamous loner. I was looking forward to getting inside her head and the story didn’t disappoint here. Her backstory explained everything and I felt I got her. I also liked that she made Asher, the infamous manwhore, work really, really hard for her, which I […]


Friends to Lovers! A Bad Boy for Christmas by Jessica Lemmon

Friends to Lovers! A Bad Boy for Christmas by Jessica Lemmon

Posted December 8, 2015 by Jonetta in Book Review | 7 Comments

    Connor McClain and Faith Garrett are good friends, despite both secretly being in lust with each other. She’s still licking her wounds following a broken engagement with a cheating ex-fiancé and he’s got some baggage from a past relationship that pushed him to enlist and end up in Afghanistan.   I LOVED this story! Connor has a wicked sense of humor and is sexy in all the right ways (a gentleman, loves his family, protective nature, etc.). Faith is beautiful but is completely unaffected by her looks, is smart and has a sinful addiction to sugar. When these two are together, it’s fun and often filled with sexual tension in a really good way. Their romance developed so naturally, progressing slowly but deliberately […]


Rescuing the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon

Rescuing the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted May 30, 2015 by Amanda in Book Review | 0 Comments

After reading the first book this series, Bringing Home the Bad Boy, I was hooked! Rescuing the Bad Boy is the second book within the Second Chance series and it was even better than the first! Donovan Pate has some serious scars from his childhood and, to start with, is the typical alpha-a-hole. But the author develops his character and reveals why he behaves in such a way. He’s built walls over the years and it was moving to see how the heroine helps him evolve. Sofie Martin and Donovan have a past. Seven years prior, they had met, fell in love, and he hurt her – badly. Now, he is back in town to prepare his childhood home for sale after the passing of his grandmother. […]


Evan Brings the Magic! Bringing Home the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon

Evan Brings the Magic! Bringing Home the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted May 5, 2015 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

     Imagine having your best friend die and later, you fall for her husband. Would you have uncomfortable feelings? Are you being disloyal? Is he confusing the love for a friend as something more instead of that deeper love you’d much prefer? These are all the questions I would have and were asked by Charlie Harris when her relationship with Evan Downey transitioned from beloved friend to lover.   I empathized with Charlie and understood her concerns on an intellectual and emotional level. But, after awhile, I thought she became more invested in the worry than focusing on the relationship and the depth of Evan’s feelings for her. The man couldn’t have been clearer and the many, many ways he expressed his love was […]


Amanda Loved Bringing Home the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon

Amanda Loved Bringing Home the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted February 6, 2015 by Amanda in Book Review | 4 Comments

I’ll start by stating that contemporary romance isn’t really my cup of tea. I prefer paranormal romance and urban fantasy. However, I like to take a vacation and visit the contemporary realm and BRINGING HOME THE BAD BOY by Jessica Lemmon was great! The bad boy, Evan, has decided to move back to his home town. For the last four years he has been caring for his son on his own. His wife, Rae, had past and being around family and friends would be best for him and his son. The heroine, Charlie, had been best friends with Rae and is still grieving her passing. Charlie has had a crush on Evan for what seems like forever, but shoved it aside when Rae had expressed interest […]