Author: Kerrelyn Sparks

How To Tame a Beast in Seven Days by Kerrelyn Sparks

Posted March 3, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | | 1 Comment

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

How To Tame a Beast in Seven Days by Kerrelyn SparksHow To Tame A Beast in Seven Days by Kerrelyn Sparks
Series: The Embraced #1
Published by St. Martin's Press on March 7, 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 416
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads
four-stars
two-flames

Luciana grew up on the Isle of Moon, hidden away because of her magical powers. But when her father arrives, he offers her a choice: remain on the island or return with him and marry the Beast of Benwick in order to save their legacy—and her father's life.

Lord Leofric, the Beast of Benwick, has not been touched since he was a child. Born with the power to harness lightning, he is a danger to everyone he touches. When he meets his betrothed, he expects a loveless, lonely marriage...until he discovers she's vastly more powerful than he realized. But is she strong enough to withstand his touch?

If they can survive, their love will alter the future of the kingdom. But will their extraordinary powers cost them everything?

 

The paperback ARC came in the mail to me as a surprise. I’ve always wanted to read this author so I was happy to read it. This was quite fun. I am seeing more of the genre of fantasy romance. How does this differ from paranormal romance? Well, there are similarities but fantasy tends to include both historical and paranormal aspects. I don’t know if it is in most fantasy romance but in all the ones I have read the women are strong and brave, often functioning or even recognized as equals to their men.

The Embraced are born on one of two nights per year when the two moons align.  These children have supernatural powers. The kings of the different lands don’t like the children because they have powers they don’t. So they try to kill them all.

Our heroine, Luciana, is hidden away on an island at a convent with other Embraced girls, all believing they are orphans. They have each other and are close as sisters. They have a good life and are raised to be decent folk.

Our hero, Leo, has crazy strong powers and is the nephew of one of the kings. His parents were killed and the king keeps trying to murder him. Leo is in the army using his skills since all the four kingdoms seem to always be at war.  The king gives him many orders in an attempt to have him disobey so he can execute him for treason.  The latest order is he is to marry the daughter of the duke of the wealthiest region in the kingdom. That way the king can bring the duke and his daughter to the court to assassinate them more easily and take their land and wealth for himself.

How to Tame a Beast in Seven Days was fun with quirky characters, humor, military strategy and action, a historical setting with some characters having paranormal abilities. I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to read more. The next one is So I Married A Sorcerer to be release August 29, 2017.


 

 

Chapter Four

As Leo and his companions rode north, the rain began, and the rolling green landscape gave way to increasingly taller hills. Their horses went at full gallop, eating up the miles before the rain could turn the dirt road into a sea of mud.

By the time they passed the second beacon, the rain was pounding on them. Their uniforms were drenched, their hair plastered to their heads. The hills had become moun- tains, and flocks of sheep huddled in the narrow glens where a few trees could give them shelter.

Thunder clapped overhead, and Leo spotted the first flash of lightning to the west. Good. He was going to need all the power he could get. Normal people didn’t stand a chance against the winged creatures that breathed fire. People like his father.

Leo had heard the story many times over a campfire. His father’s last battle had been against the Norveshki. Cedric had plowed through a dozen of their fierce warriors, but when a dragon had attacked, all his bravery and expertise had been in vain.

Another flash of lightning, this one a little closer. Leo would need to break off from the group soon. As they neared the village, a mountain loomed to the right, topped with craggy cliffs and a beacon tower. It was Mount Bae- dan, which the village was named after. He spotted a cliff that overlooked the village. That was the perfect place.

“My lord.” Nevis drew his attention to a horseman charg- ing toward them. A scout.

Leo and his companions slowed to a stop. “Report,” he said, loud enough to be heard over the pouring rain.

The scout bowed his head, causing a puddle of rain to slosh off the brim of his cap onto his chest. “Four drag- ons from Norveshka have attacked the village of Mount Baedan.”

“No warriors?” Leo asked.

“None, my lord. Just the dragons. They swooped into the valley and set the village ablaze to force the people from their homes. While the villagers ran to a nearby cave, two of the dragons captured two small children and flew away.”

Leo stiffened, his hands tightening on the reins, as the men around him cursed under their breaths. Ten years ago, the dragons had started snatching sheep. Now they were nabbing small children.

He glanced westward, hoping to see another flash of lightning streak across the sky. He needed the power now. “The rain put out the fires,” the scout continued. “The villagers are starting to leave the cave. A group of men rode out, hoping to rescue the two children.”

Leo swallowed hard as bile rose up his throat. The res- cue attempt would be in vain. Men on horseback could not cross the mountains as fast as a dragon could fly.

Thunder cracked overhead so loud, the men flinched. “Ride on to the village,” Leo shouted at them. “The last two dragons could still be close by. I’ll take care of them. You protect the people.” He turned his horse and started up the slope of Mount Baedan.

Higher and higher his horse climbed, but eventually the path became too muddy. Leo dismounted and patted the horse, the quilted material now drenched through.

“Go join the others.” He gave the horse a slap on the rump, and it started down the mountain.

Leo abandoned the muddy path that snaked back and forth up the mountainside. Instead, he scrambled straight up the rocky slope. He was halfway up when a bolt of lightning shot from the sky and struck the ground thirty yards away, blasting a boulder into bits.

Yes! The lightning had found him and was zeroing in. Energy from the blast rolled toward him, seeking him out in waves he couldn’t see, but could feel. His skin tingled. His hair, which had been plastered to his head, now crack- led as it lifted into the air.

Thunder boomed overhead, sending another wave of energy toward him. It slithered under his damp clothes, giving him a slight shock. Then an increase in power. And speed. He charged up the mountainside faster than any human could go.

Anticipation swelled inside him as he reached the first set of cliffs. Another lightning bolt ripped through the sky, this one hitting only fifteen yards away. It blasted through the rocks, causing the cliff to crumble away. As the ledge beneath his feet trembled, he ran and leaped.

He landed on the next cliff six feet away as thunder cracked and the first cliff tumbled down the mountainside. More energy surged into him, and he scrambled higher up the mountain. Faster. In a race against the next strike.

He reached the highest cliff. Nearby on the mountain summit, the beacon tower stood, deserted in the storm, its flame long smothered by the rain. The village lay nestled in the valley far below. He spotted houses built of stone with their thatched roofs burned away. The chapel of En- lightenment partially destroyed. The village lookout tower stood as high as the chapel bell tower and was manned by a lone villager. No doubt, he was keeping an eye out for the last two dragons.

Nevis and his troop arrived, and the villagers poured from their homes to welcome them. Leo winced at the sight of small children running about. Dammit, Nevis, get them back into the cave.

A rumbling noise echoed through the valley, sounding much like thunder, but Leo knew better. It was the beat- ing of dragon wings. The last two dragons had waited for the people to reappear.

Leo ripped off his gloves and threw them down, along with his bow and quiver. Then he drew his sword and pointed it to the sky. “Now!

Lightning broke through the dark clouds, racing toward him. He widened his stance and braced for impact. It struck his sword, fracturing so that a dozen smaller streaks shot off in a circle around him.

The major portion of the lightning sizzled down his sword, eager to reach his flesh. It hit his bare hand and jolted him so hard he fell to his knees and dropped the sword. The dozen fractured shards rebounded, drawn to him like a magnet. They pounded into him, jerking him back and forth. Thunder cracked over him so loud his ears rang.

Power surged through him, so fierce and scorching he thought his skin would melt, his guts would boil, and his head burst like a kernel of corn dropped into a fire. Pain and power, power and pain, he could no longer tell the dif- ference. He only knew he wanted it, wanted to drink it in, soak it up, and claim it all.

The fiery torture eased to a warm, buzzing sensation, and he found himself on all fours, gasping for air. How many times had he endured this? And it still hurt like hell. He rested back on his knees and splayed his hands in front of him. Sparks skittered around his fingers like a host of fireflies.

Good, but not enough. The Beast wanted more.

 

 

About Kerrelyn Sparks

Kerrelyn Sparks’ first paranormal romance, How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire, zoomed out of the bat cave so fast it became Borders bestselling debut romance of 2005. Each book in the Love at Stake series has become a USAToday bestseller. When the fourth book, The Undead Next Door, landed on the New York Times bestseller list, even the Undead sat up and took notice, which made Kerrelyn a bit nervous. She lives in the Greater Houston area with her husband, children, and a house full of garlic. So far, there are no vampires in her family. Werewolves are another matter entirely.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Vampire Russell’s list of New Year’s Resolutions with Kerrelyn Sparks

Vampire Russell’s list of New Year’s Resolutions with Kerrelyn Sparks

Posted December 19, 2014 by Jennifer in Author Guest Post | 9 Comments

Vampire Russell’s list of New Year’s Resolutions From Crouching Tiger Forbidden Vampire by Kerrelyn Sparks—   Do not let the evil villain, Master Han, live to see the New Year. Find out why Master Han put me into a coma for 39 freakin’ years! Stop staring at the were-tigress Jia. So what if she’s beautiful? I have other things to do. For instance– Kill Master Han. Refuse Jia’s request to team up with me so we can kill Master Han together. I work alone! Rip Master Han’s golden mask off so I can see the bastard’s face before I kill him. Delete #5. Consider Jia’s request to team up with me, but still refuse her.  Because I work alone, dammit! And I have one mission– […]


Auto Zone, LOL! Vamps and the City by Kerrelyn Sparks

Auto Zone, LOL! Vamps and the City by Kerrelyn Sparks

Posted October 27, 2014 by Jennifer in Book Review | 4 Comments

       VAMPS AND THE CITY by Kerrelyn Sparks was another fun and light listen. I liked the second book in the Love at Stake series a little more than the first book. I found the humor funnier and I connected better with the couple. VAMPS AND THE CITY’s plot of a reality TV in the Vampire World similar to the Bachelor was a fun way to get Darcy and Austin together and to showcase some great side characters. Like many paranormal romance series each book is about a different couple and all the side characters get their own books as the series goes on. And one side character I really enjoyed in VAMPS AND THE CITY was Maggie so I can’t wait to read her story […]


A Quick Bite. How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire by Kerrelyn Sparks

A Quick Bite. How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire by Kerrelyn Sparks

Posted October 21, 2014 by Jennifer in Book Review | 8 Comments

        First Thought: HOW TO MARRY A MILLIONAIRE VAMPIRE is a fun and campy paranormal romance. What I liked: How the couple meet. Really, a vampire needing a dentist because he lost his fang biting into a sex doll? FUNNY! What could have been better (for me): “God’s Blood” was use in the place of any  profanity and it got on my nerves after a while. Most of the books I read have some profanity (even the few YA books I’ve read) and then some have more than enough. I’m not against a book being free of profanity but use different terms instead of sticking to the same one over and over. IMO it’s just as bad as someone dropping the f-bomb over […]


Amanda’s Take on Vampire Mine by Kerrelyn Sparks

Amanda’s Take on Vampire Mine by Kerrelyn Sparks

Posted February 22, 2014 by Amanda in Book Review | 2 Comments

The setup Scottish vampire, Connor Buchana, is not interested in love. he doesn’t understand how his friends could possibly let such a sappy emotion take over their lives. He understands that it might be a callus attitude, but…whatever. He is hard, gruff, and is sexy as hell – I love the idea of a hot vampire wearing a kilt. (sigh) Marielle, an angel stripped of her wings. She is sweet and innocent. Her goal? To get back into Heave. The two meet in the forest. Connor was out hunting “the bad guys” and over hears a struggle. He finds a Marielle severely injured. Que their instant attraction – he is a savior and she is the beautiful damsel in distress. The issues I LOVED Connor […]


Audio Review: All I Want for Christmas is a Vampire by Kerrelyn Sparks

Audio Review: All I Want for Christmas is a Vampire by Kerrelyn Sparks

Posted November 9, 2013 by Jennifer in Book Review | 7 Comments

All I Want for Christmas is a Vampire is a fun and sexy paranormal listen. The narrator, Coleen Marlo did a pretty good job with the narration but I found her accents for the male character slip from time to time. A Scottish brogue would change to something that sounded Russian then back to Scottish. And I didn’t care for her voice for Phineas I thought it was cheesy and a little racist or stereotyping of a black man, which changed my narration rating from a B to a B-. I think this book/series would be a great fit for Robert Petkoff, who narrates Kresely Cole’s IAD series. If he had narrated I could easily see my rating for the narration go to an A. All I Want […]