Author: Nancy Holzner

Darklands by Nancy Holzner

Posted August 8, 2012 by Jennifer in Book Review | | 1 Comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Darklands by Nancy HolznerDarklands by Nancy Holzner
Series: Deadtown #4
Published by Ace on July 31st 2012
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Goodreads
four-stars

They call it Deadtown: the city’s quarantined section for its inhuman and undead residents. Most humans stay far from its border—but Victory Vaughn, Boston’s only professional demon slayer, isn’t exactly human…

Boston’s demons have been disappearing, and Vicky’s clients are canceling left and right. While fewer demons might seem like a good thing, Vicky suspects foul play. A missing Celtic cauldron from Harvard’s Peabody museum leads her to an unwelcome conclusion: Pryce, her demi-demon cousin and bitter enemy, is trying to regain his full powers.

But Pryce isn't alone. He’s conjured another, darker villain from Vicky’s past. To stop them from destroying everything she loves, she’ll have to face her own worst fear—in the realm of the dead itself.

Please do not let the cover turn you off of reading Darklands. I hate it when a great book gets a not so great cover. I’ve read books with really pretty covers where the cover was the only thing the book had going for it. So like the old saying goes, “Don’t judge a book by its cover”.

Darklands picks up about a month after Bloodstone and we start off by seeing Vicky getting suckered into going to Tina’s school for Career Night. Of course, the popular speaker in the all zombie class is a fry cook that brought coupons for free food. (If you’ve not read this series, Zombies eat more than Shaggy and Scooby Doo)

Vicky has the luck of being the last speaker and during her speech and Harpy comes in through the classroom window. Tina being the clueless teenager she can think that Vicky has brought the Harpy along to do a demonstration along with her speech about being a demon slayer. So she has a running monologue while Vicky is fighting for her life against the Harpy. (Tina is always great for some comic relief.)

Vicky is later attacked during a job where she is in a client’s dreamscape and sees Pryce, her evil “cousin” that went missing in Bloodstone. So here she goes again with trying to save the world from Pryce. This time, she has to follow him to the Darklands, where people go when they die. It’s kind of like limbo. Some people are only there for a short time where others can hang around for years. And Vicky gets some help from someone who she never thought she would see again while she is in the Darklands.

Vicky also has to deal with some relationship issues with Kane. Kane has agreed to run a sexy female werewolf’s political campaign and Vicky is seeing green when it comes to her. Vicky is not using to feeling jealous and can’t stop thinking that maybe Kane is waiting to start his own pack and that the female werewolf might be what is really right for him. So what does Vicky do? She yet again pushes Kane away and tries to put her personal feelings aside so that she can work on trying to save the world, again. But I think by the end of Darklands she is 100% sure of her feelings for Kane and I think they are finally on the road to a HEA.

Even though the plot for Darklands has some déjà vu moments, we are getting a little closer to the truth about the prophecy that talks about her. But it’s slowly spoon feed to us so that we hang on wanting more. Each book in the series really reads like chapters in a bigger story.

If you are a fan of the series you won’t want to skip reading Darklands. It was a great addition and I look forward to reading the next book.

About Nancy Holzner

Nancy Holzner grew up in western Massachusetts with her nose stuck in a book. This meant that she tended to walk into things, wore glasses before she was out of elementary school, and forced her parents to institute a “no reading at the dinner table” rule. It was probably inevitable that she majored in English in college and then, because there were still a lot of books she wanted to read, continued her studies long enough to earn a masters degree and a PhD.

She began her career as a medievalist, then jumped off the tenure track to try some other things. Besides teaching English and philosophy, she’s worked as a technical writer, freelance editor and instructional designer, college admissions counselor, and corporate trainer. Most of her nonfiction books are published under the name Nancy Conner.

Nancy lives in central New York, where she enjoys visiting local wineries and listening obsessively to opera. There are still a lot of books she wants to read.


Bloodstone by Nancy Holzner

Bloodstone by Nancy Holzner

Posted July 28, 2012 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

Bloodstone is the third book in the Deadtown Series by Nancy Holzner. Victory (Vicky) Vaughn, the heroine, is a shape shifter living in Deadtown; part of Boston where all the paranormals are forced to live. Vicky exterminates personal demons for a fee during her “day job” and in between cases, she tries to save the world from demi-demons that try to take over the world. After Vicky finishes up her latest extermination job she is faced with trying to help her MIA vampire roommate, Juliet Capulet (Yes THE Juliet Capulet as in Romeo and Juliet). Juliet went on the run from the Old Ones (a group of very old vampires) in Hellforge and now she is back and needing Vicky’s help. While Vicky tries to […]


Hellforged by Nancy Holzner

Hellforged by Nancy Holzner

Posted October 25, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

For most of Hellforged, the cast is pretty small. We don’t get to see much of the secondary characters since Vicky spends a large part of the book in Wales studying with her Aunt Mab.   The first part Hellforged is in Boston and there is something killing the zombies in Deadtown. And something even weirder is going on with Vicky’s roommate, Juliet. Vicky’s not sure if two things are connected and asks for info from Detective Daniel about the zombie cases.   Speaking of Daniel, things between him and Vicky are still just friendly until she tells him that she is leaving town for a few weeks. He gives her a toe curling kiss to remember him by while she is gone.   Kane […]


Deadtown by Nancy Holzner

Deadtown by Nancy Holzner

Posted October 4, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 5 Comments

Fans of Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series and Chole Neill’s Chicagoland Vampires series will want to check out Deadtown by Nancy Holzner. It has the same type of feel to it, the heroine, Victory Vaughn, is snarky and kicks ass. Oh and she’s a shifter that has a kind-of-sort-of boyfriend that’s a werewolf. Her roommate is a vamp, Juliet, like as in Romeo and Juliet. She has a teenage zombie as a sidekick and she just happens to hunt demons. After a mutated plague hit Boston, it turned some of the populace into zombies. Now a large part of Boston is called Deadtown and all non-humans are forced to live in that area. The non-humans are seen as monsters and don’t have the same rights […]