Author: Rebecca Zanetti

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted May 16, 2017 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | , | 0 Comments

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

I received this book for free from NetGalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lethal Lies by Rebecca ZanettiLethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #2
Narrator: Karen White
Published by Forever, Hachette Audio on May 16, 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Format: ARC, Audiobook
Length: 13 hours
Source: NetGalley, Publisher
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Goodreads
four-stars
three-flames

A deadly secret can't stay buried forever . . .

Revenge. It's the only thing that will help Anya Best sleep at night. The serial killer who murdered her sister is on the loose, and Anya will stop at nothing to put him behind bars—even use herself as bait to lure him out of hiding. But she can't do this alone.

Private investigator Heath Jones's job is to bring bastards to justice. This time it's personal. He knew the Copper Killer's latest victim so when her sister asks for his help, he's all in. But when Anya uses the media to taunt the killer, she exposes Heath's identity, putting them both in jeopardy. Now, secrets buried long ago are coming to light and the forces determined to destroy him are watching Heath's every move, waiting to exact their own revenge. And they'll use anything and anyone to get to Heath.

Anne’s Audio Review

I was so excited to get this audio, since I had also listened to Deadly Silence.  In between these two audios in the Blood Brothers series , I listened to the entire  Sin Brothers series which is related.  The Sin Brothers came first if you are OCD like me.

Karen White narrated both series so I enjoyed the consistency. While the women have different personalities, most of them sounded the same to me. The men had a little more variation. These are professional,  comfortably paced audio books.

The overall story arc continues and I’m happy we learn more in each installment. The Blood brothers were rather isolated in childhood, so they are learning more about themselves and their history all the time. This book also has the mystery of the Copper serial killer for their investigation firm and we see the resolution. I like the vignettes of the Sin Brothers giving us some tidbits on the latest with them.

These are all solid, interesting books with layered plots having both mystery, character growth, and the overall story which ties in to the world building.  Each has strong characters, plenty of action, some intelligent planning, and a sexy romance. I can’t wait for the next, Twisted Truths, which is Denver’s story releasing November 14, 2017.


Jennifer’s Review

I’ve been waiting to get my hands on Lethal Lies ever since I finished Deadly Silence. The killer serial arc continuing from the first book was a big draw. I love that the suspense in the Blood Brothers series interlock with the original Sin Brothers series about the other group of brothers, but also has its own flavor.

Anya’s sister is a FBI agent who is working with Heath on the Copper Killer and she because really involved in the case making it necessary for her to now work with Heath the sexy and dangerous P.I. with secrets he’s not willing to share with her even after a hot night of sex spent together.

The good Dr. Madison and Sheriff Cobb are back as the gruesome duo, but the Copper Killer makes them look like puppies. Rebecca Zanetti has really built an entertaining and suspenseful world and characters with both her series about a ban of brothers who found each other and learned to love like a family once they survived their horrific childhoods.

The mystery of the Copper Killer is solved somewhat by the end of the novel but like all great villains they get away for one last chance at madness. I’m highly anticipating Denver’s story, Twisted Truths will be my favorite of the series but we’ll have to wait until November to find out. I believe it is the last book since Denver is the last brother in this group.

Romantic Suspense fans will want to read Lethal Lies, but since it’s part of a series and has connections to the Sin Brothers series I highly recommend starting with the first book in the Sin Bros series, Forgotten Sins (It’s like watching Marvel’s Avenger movies without watching the individual character’s movies. Sure you can enjoy Iron Man, Captain American, Thor, etc in the Avengers, but you would have a better appreciation for them if you got their back stories.) or at the very least Deadly Silence.

 


Giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

LETHAL LIES EXCERPT

She swallowed and met his gaze. “All right. Let me get this straight. We’re going undercover to flush out a killer who’s obsessed with me, and you’re offering to play at being my man for real with no strings or future?” She hoisted the bag onto her shoulder. “That’s some ego. Are you that good in bed?”

“Yes.” And that was definite interest in her eyes.

She clicked her tongue. “I’ll keep your offer in mind.”

“You do that.” He maintained a low and calm voice. “While you’re considering, let’s look at the situation. You have publicly made me your fiancé in order to draw out a killer, which means I have to act as such. Any halfway intelligent law enforcement officer or private investigator would keep his redheaded fiancée very close after the stunt you just pulled. If you’re not with me, the killer is going to be very suspicious.”

She stilled, expressions crossing her face rapidly. “That’s a good point,” she said slowly.

Yeah. Sometimes reality helped him out a little. Plus, the killer had a hard-on for her, and he must already have plans to take her at some point. She’d just upped the timeline. “In addition, you need protection around the clock now, and I’m willing to provide that. So while you’re keeping my offer in mind, we’ll be staying in the same hotel room or same apartment.” He made sure he had her full attention. “While we plan the wedding, of course.”

Her challenging smile thrilled something inside him. “That’s fair.”

He stepped back to give her some space. “Good. Are you ready?”

“Yes.” She looked around the room. “I do have to ask. What if I didn’t agree with you about your keeping secrets from me? Considering people shoot at you, and I’m going to be at your side, it seems fair that you tell me who these people are.” She cocked her head to the side and focused back on him.

“I have more immediate concerns than being fair,” he said smoothly. “You brought me into this mess.”

A frown drew down her eyebrows. “Listen. I want an answer about you.”

“I just gave you one.” At her mulish expression, he searched for better words that wouldn’t end in an argument.

Suddenly, the door blew wide open and bounced loudly off the table. “Anya!” he yelled, jumping for her.

About Karen White

Karen White is a classically trained actress who has been recording audio books since 1999 and has well over 150 books to her credit and is a proud member of SAG-AFTRA. Honored to be included inAudiofile’s Best Voices 2010 and 2011, she’s also an Audie Finalist and Best Audiobook of the Year winner for 2009, 2010 and 2011 (The Hemingses of Monticello by Annette Gordon Reed, Too Good to be True by Erin Arvedlund, and Everything That Rises Must Converge by Flannery O’Connor) and she has earned multiple Audiofile Earphones Awards, recently for and You Had Me at Woof by Julie Klam and Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz. Publishers Weekly says of Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick, “Karen White delivers a stunning reading, her character interpretations are confident and well-rounded, and she forges a strong bond with the audience.” Speaking of Audiobooks says of her, “Karen is one of my auto-buy narrators – if I think a book may interest me, her narration will sway me to give it a try.”

About Rebecca Zanetti

New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti has worked as an art curator, Senate aide, lawyer, college professor, and a hearing examiner – only to culminate it all in stories about Alpha males and the women who claim them. She is a member of RWA, has won awards for her works throughout the industry, and has a journalism degree with a poly sci emphasis from Pepperdine University as well as a Juris Doctorate from the University of Idaho.

Growing up amid the glorious backdrops and winter wonderlands of the Pacific Northwest has given Rebecca fantastic scenery and adventures to weave into her stories. She resides in the wild north with her husband, children, and extended family who inspire her every day-or at the very least give her plenty of characters to write about.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted April 7, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

Jennifer’s Thoughts Zanetti’s Blood Brothers series is a spin-off of her Sin Brothers series but don’t worry you can pick up Deadly Silence without reading the former series. There is some cross-over with minor characters and the background of what happened to both set of brothers but new readers won’t be lost and fans of the Sin Brothers will enjoy the connection. Deadly Silence is a sexy, action pack, romantic suspense thrill ride. Ryker and Zara have been having a casual ‘relationship’, the kind where when he’s in town she cooks him dinner and he supplies the desert. Zara has never had a no strings attached kind of affair before and she’s finding it harder and harder to keep it casual with in her heart when […]


Fated by Rebecca Zanetti

Fated by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted July 25, 2015 by Jennifer in Book Review | 7 Comments

    Fans of Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breeds series will enjoy the vampire mythology in Fated by Rebecca Zanetti. The vampires are all born not made and they’re all male. They need female humans to mate with. Instead of the women having a Breed Mate mark, the vampires get a mark on them once they’ve touched their fated female and once the couple mates the woman is also marked. Once the mating takes place no other vampire male can touch the woman without displeasure. Also like the Breed Mates in Adrian’s series, the women have special abilities. Cara is an empath with a young daughter, Janie that is psychic. And there’s two groups of vampires. The good ones like Talen and the bad ones, Kurjans. The Kurjans can’t […]


Joint Review of Total Surrender by Rebecca Zanetti

Joint Review of Total Surrender by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted April 13, 2015 by Jennifer in Book Review | 6 Comments

  Piper and Jory? Jonetta: I thought she had a great sense of humor and he really was a badass. They were great together, especially when she was debating whether to trust him or not. Jennifer: I thought Piper was great for Jory. She helped bring out his emotions and helped him have a little fun in a dark world.   Who’s your daddy? Jonetta: Didn’t see that coming either! Probably my biggest WTH moment in the story. I had to rewind and listen again. Jennifer: I liked the reveal. After all one Dean brother falls for the bitch’s daughter. It was only fighting that this love connection happened.   There’s a new crazy in town Jonetta: Like the Commander and his crew weren’t crazy enough? The Protect group may be worse […]


Joint Audio Review of Blind Faith by Rebecca Zanetti

Joint Audio Review of Blind Faith by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted February 13, 2015 by Jennifer in Book Review | 9 Comments

      I’ve Got a Secret Jonetta: Audrey can’t tell Nate she’s on his side because she wants to protect him. Puh-leeze! He’s a killing machine!! Glad this didn’t last too long. Jennifer: I agree but really she loves him and wants to protect him. But yeah he’s a stone-cold killer when he needs to be. Money and Politics Jonetta: Loved this combo for the story. I knew we could expect dirty dealing, backstabbing and somebody getting knocked off. Jennifer: Most of the twists I saw coming but they were still written well and I really thought I knew who Audrey’s dad was going to be but at last I was wrong. Unless it was another lie… Mother of the Year! Jennifer: Geez, Audrey’s mom is a cold-hearted […]


The Dean Brothers are Back in Sweet Revenge by Rebecca Zanetti

The Dean Brothers are Back in Sweet Revenge by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted July 16, 2014 by Jonetta in Book Review, Hot & Deadly | 0 Comments

Jennifer and I are both weighing in on this story. I read it and she listened to it so you’ll get more than just two story perspectives.   Quick summary The story continues, this time with the eldest of the Dean brothers. Matt arrives in Charmed, Idaho, following a lead that points to this town where he might find one of the doctors who knows the key to disarming the chip imbedded in him and his brothers. Laney Jacobs owns and operates a bar there and takes him in and gives him shelter and a job. They are terribly attracted to each other but aren’t being completely honest about their pasts and agendas. The mystery and suspense Jonetta: One of the highlights is the mystery and […]


Audio vs eBook Forgotten Sins by Rebecca Zanetti

Audio vs eBook Forgotten Sins by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted May 8, 2014 by Jonetta in Book Review | 11 Comments

 Jonetta and Jennifer team up again for a joint review.    Quick Summary Josie Dean hasn’t seen her husband in over two years until she receives a call from the hospital to come get him. Shane is suffering from amnesia and doesn’t remember her but quickly decides he wants to resume his role as her husband. Things soon start to get dangerous when there’s an attack on their house and it’s unclear why and by whom. Shane’s story Jonetta: It starts out mysteriously with a view of Shane’s world as a child, which appeared strange and unconventional. The details are slowly revealed throughout the story. I found this pretty interesting, even though it took a bit too long to reveal as I was confused. He […]