Format: ARC

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted May 16, 2017 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | , | 0 Comments

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

I received this book for free from NetGalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lethal Lies by Rebecca ZanettiLethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #2
Narrator: Karen White
Published by Forever, Hachette Audio on May 16, 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Format: ARC, Audiobook
Length: 13 hours
Source: NetGalley, Publisher
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Goodreads
four-stars
three-flames

A deadly secret can't stay buried forever . . .

Revenge. It's the only thing that will help Anya Best sleep at night. The serial killer who murdered her sister is on the loose, and Anya will stop at nothing to put him behind bars—even use herself as bait to lure him out of hiding. But she can't do this alone.

Private investigator Heath Jones's job is to bring bastards to justice. This time it's personal. He knew the Copper Killer's latest victim so when her sister asks for his help, he's all in. But when Anya uses the media to taunt the killer, she exposes Heath's identity, putting them both in jeopardy. Now, secrets buried long ago are coming to light and the forces determined to destroy him are watching Heath's every move, waiting to exact their own revenge. And they'll use anything and anyone to get to Heath.

Anne’s Audio Review

I was so excited to get this audio, since I had also listened to Deadly Silence.  In between these two audios in the Blood Brothers series , I listened to the entire  Sin Brothers series which is related.  The Sin Brothers came first if you are OCD like me.

Karen White narrated both series so I enjoyed the consistency. While the women have different personalities, most of them sounded the same to me. The men had a little more variation. These are professional,  comfortably paced audio books.

The overall story arc continues and I’m happy we learn more in each installment. The Blood brothers were rather isolated in childhood, so they are learning more about themselves and their history all the time. This book also has the mystery of the Copper serial killer for their investigation firm and we see the resolution. I like the vignettes of the Sin Brothers giving us some tidbits on the latest with them.

These are all solid, interesting books with layered plots having both mystery, character growth, and the overall story which ties in to the world building.  Each has strong characters, plenty of action, some intelligent planning, and a sexy romance. I can’t wait for the next, Twisted Truths, which is Denver’s story releasing November 14, 2017.


Jennifer’s Review

I’ve been waiting to get my hands on Lethal Lies ever since I finished Deadly Silence. The killer serial arc continuing from the first book was a big draw. I love that the suspense in the Blood Brothers series interlock with the original Sin Brothers series about the other group of brothers, but also has its own flavor.

Anya’s sister is a FBI agent who is working with Heath on the Copper Killer and she because really involved in the case making it necessary for her to now work with Heath the sexy and dangerous P.I. with secrets he’s not willing to share with her even after a hot night of sex spent together.

The good Dr. Madison and Sheriff Cobb are back as the gruesome duo, but the Copper Killer makes them look like puppies. Rebecca Zanetti has really built an entertaining and suspenseful world and characters with both her series about a ban of brothers who found each other and learned to love like a family once they survived their horrific childhoods.

The mystery of the Copper Killer is solved somewhat by the end of the novel but like all great villains they get away for one last chance at madness. I’m highly anticipating Denver’s story, Twisted Truths will be my favorite of the series but we’ll have to wait until November to find out. I believe it is the last book since Denver is the last brother in this group.

Romantic Suspense fans will want to read Lethal Lies, but since it’s part of a series and has connections to the Sin Brothers series I highly recommend starting with the first book in the Sin Bros series, Forgotten Sins (It’s like watching Marvel’s Avenger movies without watching the individual character’s movies. Sure you can enjoy Iron Man, Captain American, Thor, etc in the Avengers, but you would have a better appreciation for them if you got their back stories.) or at the very least Deadly Silence.

 


Giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

LETHAL LIES EXCERPT

She swallowed and met his gaze. “All right. Let me get this straight. We’re going undercover to flush out a killer who’s obsessed with me, and you’re offering to play at being my man for real with no strings or future?” She hoisted the bag onto her shoulder. “That’s some ego. Are you that good in bed?”

“Yes.” And that was definite interest in her eyes.

She clicked her tongue. “I’ll keep your offer in mind.”

“You do that.” He maintained a low and calm voice. “While you’re considering, let’s look at the situation. You have publicly made me your fiancé in order to draw out a killer, which means I have to act as such. Any halfway intelligent law enforcement officer or private investigator would keep his redheaded fiancée very close after the stunt you just pulled. If you’re not with me, the killer is going to be very suspicious.”

She stilled, expressions crossing her face rapidly. “That’s a good point,” she said slowly.

Yeah. Sometimes reality helped him out a little. Plus, the killer had a hard-on for her, and he must already have plans to take her at some point. She’d just upped the timeline. “In addition, you need protection around the clock now, and I’m willing to provide that. So while you’re keeping my offer in mind, we’ll be staying in the same hotel room or same apartment.” He made sure he had her full attention. “While we plan the wedding, of course.”

Her challenging smile thrilled something inside him. “That’s fair.”

He stepped back to give her some space. “Good. Are you ready?”

“Yes.” She looked around the room. “I do have to ask. What if I didn’t agree with you about your keeping secrets from me? Considering people shoot at you, and I’m going to be at your side, it seems fair that you tell me who these people are.” She cocked her head to the side and focused back on him.

“I have more immediate concerns than being fair,” he said smoothly. “You brought me into this mess.”

A frown drew down her eyebrows. “Listen. I want an answer about you.”

“I just gave you one.” At her mulish expression, he searched for better words that wouldn’t end in an argument.

Suddenly, the door blew wide open and bounced loudly off the table. “Anya!” he yelled, jumping for her.

About Karen White

Karen White is a classically trained actress who has been recording audio books since 1999 and has well over 150 books to her credit and is a proud member of SAG-AFTRA. Honored to be included inAudiofile’s Best Voices 2010 and 2011, she’s also an Audie Finalist and Best Audiobook of the Year winner for 2009, 2010 and 2011 (The Hemingses of Monticello by Annette Gordon Reed, Too Good to be True by Erin Arvedlund, and Everything That Rises Must Converge by Flannery O’Connor) and she has earned multiple Audiofile Earphones Awards, recently for and You Had Me at Woof by Julie Klam and Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz. Publishers Weekly says of Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick, “Karen White delivers a stunning reading, her character interpretations are confident and well-rounded, and she forges a strong bond with the audience.” Speaking of Audiobooks says of her, “Karen is one of my auto-buy narrators – if I think a book may interest me, her narration will sway me to give it a try.”

About Rebecca Zanetti

New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti has worked as an art curator, Senate aide, lawyer, college professor, and a hearing examiner – only to culminate it all in stories about Alpha males and the women who claim them. She is a member of RWA, has won awards for her works throughout the industry, and has a journalism degree with a poly sci emphasis from Pepperdine University as well as a Juris Doctorate from the University of Idaho.

Growing up amid the glorious backdrops and winter wonderlands of the Pacific Northwest has given Rebecca fantastic scenery and adventures to weave into her stories. She resides in the wild north with her husband, children, and extended family who inspire her every day-or at the very least give her plenty of characters to write about.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Borrowed Souls by Chelsea Mueller

Borrowed Souls by Chelsea Mueller

Posted May 2, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 7 Comments

Mueller is an Exciting new voice in Urban Fantasy! Callie & Derek is a hit in Borrowed Souls! Fans of Stacia Kane’s Downside Ghost series wanting a heroine and hero with a little less drama but still a little damaged will gravitate to this pairing. Borrowed Souls was just the kick I needed to get my urban fantasy juices following again. I’ve been on a break from the genre but Callie is the kind of leading lady who sucks me into her life and story. She has an inner strength even if she doesn’t always believes she does. She finds herself dealing with people on the wrong side of the law in order to help her older brother, Josh out. Callie is the one that […]


The Deep End by Kristen Ashley

The Deep End by Kristen Ashley

Posted March 31, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 4 Comments

     After so many others recommending her to me I finally pop my Kristen Ashley cherry with The Deep End. I’ve been on a D/s reading kick lately so The Deep End worked into my reading schedule at a perfect time. This is the 2nd title I’ve read where the heroine is the Domme and the hero is the submissive and I find it funny that the first title I read was Natural Law by Joey W. Hill was referenced in this novel. It’s the book Amèlie’s book club of Doms is reading. I’ve seen where Ashley fans aren’t jumping for joy that she wrote in this genre but I have to say she wrote it well and I welcome more of it on my […]


Early review: Winter Halo by Keri Arthur

Early review: Winter Halo by Keri Arthur

Posted December 1, 2016 by Anne in Book Review | 3 Comments

      I very much looked forward to this second book and I enjoyed it. Many things continue from City of Light. Tiger still wants to find the missing children. This means she is working with Nuri and Jonas, as they want the same thing, but they don’t trust each other. They need each other though. It’s a difficult balance. The enemy is not fully defined and is formidable. Tiger needs to be alert for the many dangers. It has me on edge throughout Winter Halo. Tiger takes on a new lover to gain intelligence for the team. It’s why she was created so it is a comfortable role but it’s still squicky (to me). She also finally manages to get a job at the […]


The Burning Isle by Will Panzo

The Burning Isle by Will Panzo

Posted November 10, 2016 by Anne in Book Review | 2 Comments

     Again,  I find myself reading a book because I’m an Ace Roc star. It is not one I would have chosen myself. I used to think I didn’t like historical type fantasy and now I know that’s not exactly true. Ace Roc has given me such an opportunity to grow and discover new things. I appreciate it. The Burning Isle is the first book in a new series by a new author. There’s a nice interview at The Qwillery. I added the content warning because this book is dark. Magic is a factor here and it’s my favorite supernatural type. The primary themes here are revenge and justice. The violence on page does not feel real to me, perhaps being desensitized by so […]


The Last Dream Keeper by Amber Benson

The Last Dream Keeper by Amber Benson

Posted August 25, 2016 by Anne in Book Review | 0 Comments

    This Arc came in paperback in my first package for AceRocstars. It looked like one of my top picks because I love magic but it was book 2 and we got so many great things. I had trouble getting book 1 without buying it and I prefer not to buy when I don’t know how I feel about the author or series. So I ordered up the first book through Interlibrary loan. The Witches of Echo Park is book 1. The world-building and character development began at a slow pace. Each chapter took a different point of view so there was lots of information on lots of people. The setup of the story with its history and characters had a good amount of depth. […]


Unraveled by Jennifer Estep

Unraveled by Jennifer Estep

Posted August 19, 2016 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | 10 Comments

What can I say, Gin’s my girl! In Unraveled she shows the underbelly that there’s a new sheriff in town. I love that Unraveled has Philly in it! He’s a likable character like Finn and can deliver the snarky lines and is great to have for back up. Gin is working to figure how who is in the Circle, a super-secret group that we hear about in the previous book, Bitter Bite. While the plot for this installment starts out in Ashland, Gin, and her posse take a weekend vacation to Bullet Pointe. Bullet Pointe is a western theme park and hotel resort near Ashland and Finn got the deed to it from his dead mother. If you’re a fan of the series then you know that […]


Chapelwood by Cherie Priest

Chapelwood by Cherie Priest

Posted July 27, 2016 by Anne in Book Review | 3 Comments

         I felt Maplecroft ended the story quite fully and in a satisfying way. Chapelwood continues in similar style about thirty years later.  Whaaaaat?  Why was there such a huge time gap? This is horror in a lovecraftian form, which works for me. I kept waiting for the story to start, wanting someone to gather evidence, plan and develop a strategy for dealing with creatures, more like they did in the first book. I thought when the Inspector invited Lizzie to get involved and they went to Alabama, it would happen. I looked forward to their analysis and discussions of how to proceed, but NO. They just observed and bumbled into situations unprepared and unarmed. It was frustrating to have them not really […]