Genre: Contemporary Romance

Review: Big Sky River by Linda Lael Miller

Review: Big Sky River by Linda Lael Miller

Posted January 3, 2013 by Jonetta in Book Review | 0 Comments

Boone Taylor, the sheriff of Parable County, is still mourning his wife who died a few years ago and still hasn’t brought his two young boys home. Even though he’s moved on with his life, he’s still stuck in time with his property in decay and his sons still living with his sisters in another town. Meanwhile, his prickly neighbor, Tara Kendall who has been very critical of how he’s not maintained his property, is reinventing herself after moving to Parable from New York. Her painful marriage behind her, she’s making the best of her new life in spite of her stubborn but handsome neighbor. This series just gets better with each book. I knew Boone’s book would be more complicated given his personal circumstances […]


Audio Review: Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas

Audio Review: Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas

Posted December 31, 2012 by Jennifer in Book Review | 3 Comments

I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again. Lisa Kleypas is now one of my favorite authors. She is a great way to ease into the Contemporary Romance world. I would have to say that Smooth Talking Stranger is tie with Blue-Eyed Devil as my favorite in the trilogy. One thing that sets the Travises trilogy apart from other romance books I’ve read is that the female leads are the ones that have the messed up pasts. And the men are the ones that “fix” the women. Oh sure the guys are alpha types but they have to learn to be a little softer to help out their women. Ella had a rough childhood being raised by a mother that was no mother at […]


Review: Release Me by J. Kenner

Posted December 27, 2012 by Jonetta in Book Review | 0 Comments

Release Me  By J. Kenner  Erotic Romance, Contemporary Romance  For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms. He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist. Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me. Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking […]


Review: Under the Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis

Posted December 12, 2012 by Jonetta in Book Review | 1 Comment

Under the Mistletoe  By Jill Shalvis  Book #6.5 in the Lucky Harbor series  Contemporary Romance There’s no place like home for the holidays. And the Lucky Harbor Bed & Breakfast is bursting with festive lights and good cheer. But for Mia, Christmas is turning out to be anything other than merry and bright. Her recent break-up with her boyfriend Nick has made her return bittersweet. But then a surprise arrives, when Nick follows her to town bearing gifts-and asking for forgiveness. Nick grew up without a family of his own so he’s overwhelmed by the love that Mia receives from all her relatives, gathered together to celebrate the season. Under their watchful eyes, Nick finds earning back her trust the hardest thing he’s ever had to […]


Review: Naughty and Nice by Knox, O’Keefe, Sloane

Review: Naughty and Nice by Knox, O’Keefe, Sloane

Posted December 8, 2012 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

ROOM AT THE INN by Ruthie Knox After falling in love with Ruthie Knox’s other books, I knew I had to read Room at the Inn for a little holiday hotness and cheer. I’m slowly getting into Contemporary Romance and Knox is one of the authors that is on my audio buy list for the genre. She knows how to write a story with heart. Her couples not only have hot sex but their is a real romance between them and a great plot in each of her books. Room at the Inn is a great holiday romance where a couple that have been on and off over the last few years get a second chance to make it work. I love that Carson and […]


Review: Blue-Eyed Devil by Lisa Kleypas

Review: Blue-Eyed Devil by Lisa Kleypas

Posted December 5, 2012 by Jennifer in Book Review | 5 Comments

I am somewhat new to the contemporary world and Lisa Kleypas was a great place to start. Her writing just sucks me into the story and I feel everything that the characters feel. Blue-Eyed Devil made me cry like a baby. Haven went through so much hurt that I wanted to just give her a hug. Haven meets a sexy stranger at her brother’s wedding. They have a moment in the wine cellar then she returns to her boyfriend’s side, trying to forget the kiss she shared with the stranger. She later finds out that the stranger is Hardy Cates. The guy that has a history with her brother’s new wife and is a business enemy of her family. Haven forgets Hardy and marries her […]


Review: Checking it Twice by Jodi Redford

Review: Checking it Twice by Jodi Redford

Posted December 4, 2012 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

Holy Hotness Batman this book is frecking hot!! Warning – have peen and/or B.O.B. handy when reading it. We’ve all read those romances where the guy and girl meet and fall in love within days or even hours of meeting each other. I really love it when a romance book is about a guy and girl who has a history. And in Checking it Twice, Jana and Kevin have been best friends for 5 years. Jana has wanted more for a while now but Kevin tries to keep his lust for Jana in check for fear of hurting her if he didn’t. So while Jana wanting more than friendship from Kevin she has developed a flirty friendship via the phone with one of her vendors […]


Barefoot in the Rain by Roxanne St. Claire

Barefoot in the Rain by Roxanne St. Claire

Posted November 8, 2012 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

Jocelyn Bloom has a thriving business in L. A. as a life coach to the elite of Hollywood. She’s now embroiled in a scandal involving the famous husband of one of her clients and she’s come home to Barefoot Bay to take cover. Her friends rally around her, including Will Palmer, who once was her lifeline during her miserable childhood. Jocelyn has been estranged from her father since she left Barefoot Bay for college and is stunned when she discovers Will has been seeing to his care because of his senility. Will and Jocelyn have an extremely complicated past, which unfolds gradually throughout the story. It’s pretty clear that Jocelyn’s father, Guy, was abusive to her and was the catalyst to her leaving Barefoot Bay. […]