Genre: Paranormal Romance

How To Tame a Beast in Seven Days by Kerrelyn Sparks

Posted March 3, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | | 1 Comment

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

How To Tame a Beast in Seven Days by Kerrelyn SparksHow To Tame A Beast in Seven Days by Kerrelyn Sparks
Series: The Embraced #1
Published by St. Martin's Press on March 7, 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 416
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads
four-stars
two-flames

Luciana grew up on the Isle of Moon, hidden away because of her magical powers. But when her father arrives, he offers her a choice: remain on the island or return with him and marry the Beast of Benwick in order to save their legacy—and her father's life.

Lord Leofric, the Beast of Benwick, has not been touched since he was a child. Born with the power to harness lightning, he is a danger to everyone he touches. When he meets his betrothed, he expects a loveless, lonely marriage...until he discovers she's vastly more powerful than he realized. But is she strong enough to withstand his touch?

If they can survive, their love will alter the future of the kingdom. But will their extraordinary powers cost them everything?

 

The paperback ARC came in the mail to me as a surprise. I’ve always wanted to read this author so I was happy to read it. This was quite fun. I am seeing more of the genre of fantasy romance. How does this differ from paranormal romance? Well, there are similarities but fantasy tends to include both historical and paranormal aspects. I don’t know if it is in most fantasy romance but in all the ones I have read the women are strong and brave, often functioning or even recognized as equals to their men.

The Embraced are born on one of two nights per year when the two moons align.  These children have supernatural powers. The kings of the different lands don’t like the children because they have powers they don’t. So they try to kill them all.

Our heroine, Luciana, is hidden away on an island at a convent with other Embraced girls, all believing they are orphans. They have each other and are close as sisters. They have a good life and are raised to be decent folk.

Our hero, Leo, has crazy strong powers and is the nephew of one of the kings. His parents were killed and the king keeps trying to murder him. Leo is in the army using his skills since all the four kingdoms seem to always be at war.  The king gives him many orders in an attempt to have him disobey so he can execute him for treason.  The latest order is he is to marry the daughter of the duke of the wealthiest region in the kingdom. That way the king can bring the duke and his daughter to the court to assassinate them more easily and take their land and wealth for himself.

How to Tame a Beast in Seven Days was fun with quirky characters, humor, military strategy and action, a historical setting with some characters having paranormal abilities. I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to read more. The next one is So I Married A Sorcerer to be release August 29, 2017.


 

 

Chapter Four

As Leo and his companions rode north, the rain began, and the rolling green landscape gave way to increasingly taller hills. Their horses went at full gallop, eating up the miles before the rain could turn the dirt road into a sea of mud.

By the time they passed the second beacon, the rain was pounding on them. Their uniforms were drenched, their hair plastered to their heads. The hills had become moun- tains, and flocks of sheep huddled in the narrow glens where a few trees could give them shelter.

Thunder clapped overhead, and Leo spotted the first flash of lightning to the west. Good. He was going to need all the power he could get. Normal people didn’t stand a chance against the winged creatures that breathed fire. People like his father.

Leo had heard the story many times over a campfire. His father’s last battle had been against the Norveshki. Cedric had plowed through a dozen of their fierce warriors, but when a dragon had attacked, all his bravery and expertise had been in vain.

Another flash of lightning, this one a little closer. Leo would need to break off from the group soon. As they neared the village, a mountain loomed to the right, topped with craggy cliffs and a beacon tower. It was Mount Bae- dan, which the village was named after. He spotted a cliff that overlooked the village. That was the perfect place.

“My lord.” Nevis drew his attention to a horseman charg- ing toward them. A scout.

Leo and his companions slowed to a stop. “Report,” he said, loud enough to be heard over the pouring rain.

The scout bowed his head, causing a puddle of rain to slosh off the brim of his cap onto his chest. “Four drag- ons from Norveshka have attacked the village of Mount Baedan.”

“No warriors?” Leo asked.

“None, my lord. Just the dragons. They swooped into the valley and set the village ablaze to force the people from their homes. While the villagers ran to a nearby cave, two of the dragons captured two small children and flew away.”

Leo stiffened, his hands tightening on the reins, as the men around him cursed under their breaths. Ten years ago, the dragons had started snatching sheep. Now they were nabbing small children.

He glanced westward, hoping to see another flash of lightning streak across the sky. He needed the power now. “The rain put out the fires,” the scout continued. “The villagers are starting to leave the cave. A group of men rode out, hoping to rescue the two children.”

Leo swallowed hard as bile rose up his throat. The res- cue attempt would be in vain. Men on horseback could not cross the mountains as fast as a dragon could fly.

Thunder cracked overhead so loud, the men flinched. “Ride on to the village,” Leo shouted at them. “The last two dragons could still be close by. I’ll take care of them. You protect the people.” He turned his horse and started up the slope of Mount Baedan.

Higher and higher his horse climbed, but eventually the path became too muddy. Leo dismounted and patted the horse, the quilted material now drenched through.

“Go join the others.” He gave the horse a slap on the rump, and it started down the mountain.

Leo abandoned the muddy path that snaked back and forth up the mountainside. Instead, he scrambled straight up the rocky slope. He was halfway up when a bolt of lightning shot from the sky and struck the ground thirty yards away, blasting a boulder into bits.

Yes! The lightning had found him and was zeroing in. Energy from the blast rolled toward him, seeking him out in waves he couldn’t see, but could feel. His skin tingled. His hair, which had been plastered to his head, now crack- led as it lifted into the air.

Thunder boomed overhead, sending another wave of energy toward him. It slithered under his damp clothes, giving him a slight shock. Then an increase in power. And speed. He charged up the mountainside faster than any human could go.

Anticipation swelled inside him as he reached the first set of cliffs. Another lightning bolt ripped through the sky, this one hitting only fifteen yards away. It blasted through the rocks, causing the cliff to crumble away. As the ledge beneath his feet trembled, he ran and leaped.

He landed on the next cliff six feet away as thunder cracked and the first cliff tumbled down the mountainside. More energy surged into him, and he scrambled higher up the mountain. Faster. In a race against the next strike.

He reached the highest cliff. Nearby on the mountain summit, the beacon tower stood, deserted in the storm, its flame long smothered by the rain. The village lay nestled in the valley far below. He spotted houses built of stone with their thatched roofs burned away. The chapel of En- lightenment partially destroyed. The village lookout tower stood as high as the chapel bell tower and was manned by a lone villager. No doubt, he was keeping an eye out for the last two dragons.

Nevis and his troop arrived, and the villagers poured from their homes to welcome them. Leo winced at the sight of small children running about. Dammit, Nevis, get them back into the cave.

A rumbling noise echoed through the valley, sounding much like thunder, but Leo knew better. It was the beat- ing of dragon wings. The last two dragons had waited for the people to reappear.

Leo ripped off his gloves and threw them down, along with his bow and quiver. Then he drew his sword and pointed it to the sky. “Now!

Lightning broke through the dark clouds, racing toward him. He widened his stance and braced for impact. It struck his sword, fracturing so that a dozen smaller streaks shot off in a circle around him.

The major portion of the lightning sizzled down his sword, eager to reach his flesh. It hit his bare hand and jolted him so hard he fell to his knees and dropped the sword. The dozen fractured shards rebounded, drawn to him like a magnet. They pounded into him, jerking him back and forth. Thunder cracked over him so loud his ears rang.

Power surged through him, so fierce and scorching he thought his skin would melt, his guts would boil, and his head burst like a kernel of corn dropped into a fire. Pain and power, power and pain, he could no longer tell the dif- ference. He only knew he wanted it, wanted to drink it in, soak it up, and claim it all.

The fiery torture eased to a warm, buzzing sensation, and he found himself on all fours, gasping for air. How many times had he endured this? And it still hurt like hell. He rested back on his knees and splayed his hands in front of him. Sparks skittered around his fingers like a host of fireflies.

Good, but not enough. The Beast wanted more.

 

 

About Kerrelyn Sparks

Kerrelyn Sparks’ first paranormal romance, How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire, zoomed out of the bat cave so fast it became Borders bestselling debut romance of 2005. Each book in the Love at Stake series has become a USAToday bestseller. When the fourth book, The Undead Next Door, landed on the New York Times bestseller list, even the Undead sat up and took notice, which made Kerrelyn a bit nervous. She lives in the Greater Houston area with her husband, children, and a house full of garlic. So far, there are no vampires in her family. Werewolves are another matter entirely.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Into the Fire by Jeaniene Frost

Into the Fire by Jeaniene Frost

Posted February 28, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 4 Comments

Into the Fire felt more like a start to a new beginning than and ending… I am sorry to say that Into the Fire broke the 5 star record for the Night Prince series for me. Like other fans, I could not wait to get my hands on Vlad’s final book, but something was missing and I cannot put my finger on it. That’s not to say that Into the Fire was not enjoyable, it was. I think the wait and anticipation was too high so the ending of the series was a little anticlimactic. I wish I had taken the time to do a series reread because I went Into the Fire not remembering where we left off with the previous book, Bound by […]


Thrifty Thursday: A Touch of Midnight by Lara Adrian

Thrifty Thursday: A Touch of Midnight by Lara Adrian

Posted February 16, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 0 Comments

       The purpose of Thrifty Thursday is to read a book which was free (at some point). Kindle freebie on December 20, 2013  (currently FREE as of writing this post) Overall rating 4.10 with 7,258 ratings and 397 reviews   I’m a fan of the Midnight Breed Series. I listened to books 1-10 on audio last year since the author would be at NOLA Storycon. I meant to just listen to one and then move on to another author but I got sucked into the overall story arc and just kept going. This novella was a freebie I got four years ago and it’s odd I didn’t read it first to be in order. It did, however, come out after the first 10 books […]


Of Silk and Steam by Bec McMaster

Of Silk and Steam by Bec McMaster

Posted January 27, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

Of Silk and Steam brings the events that has been building since book 1, Kiss of Steel are finally brought to a close. Bec McMaster writes great characters and her couples are always fun to see go through their issues to get to their HEA. This time she brings us a couple that are frenemies of a sort. Mina does not like Leo Barrons because his father killed her father. Yeah, that’s going to be a big issue to get over in order for them to get friendly with each other. Leo has wanted Mina for his own for a few years and has been patient in his “chase” of her. Of course it pays off and seeing Leo melt Mina’s chilly exterior was both fun […]


A Stone-Kissed Sea by Elizabeth Hunter

A Stone-Kissed Sea by Elizabeth Hunter

Posted December 27, 2016 by Anne in Book Review | 0 Comments

       I have truly enjoyed all the books in this Elemental World series. I just played catch-up, to review this one shortly after its release. The overall mystery, which started in the Elemental Mysteries series and seems to conclude here, is an intriguing and twisty one.  Elemental World series starts during the Elemental Mysteries and continues on forward. I don’t recommend reading the series out of order – I never do – but with the ongoing story throughout, it wouldn’t be the best plan. The series plot and the world-building are excellent. Lucien Thrax is one I wanted to know more since he turned up in earlier books. He’s intelligent and has so many interesting experiences in his long life. I was thrilled he […]


Review of Holiday Novellas

Review of Holiday Novellas

Posted December 21, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

In the spirit of cleaning out my ebooks and getting into the holiday mood, I binge read a few holiday novellas I’ve been holding on to for a few years. Here are my quick thoughts on them. I wish I had not waited so long to read Vampire for Christmas by Felicity Heaton. It was a great mix of action, humor, and romance to fill that paranormal void. Rafe and Shannon made me think of other couples where the heroine is a vampire hunter and the guy is a vampire. Like Buffy/Spike and Cat/Bones. Their love wasn’t meant to be and yet their two years working together, hunting demons side by side gave them both something the other was missing. It was great to see this couple […]


Moonshadow by Thea Harrison

Moonshadow by Thea Harrison

Posted December 16, 2016 by Anne in Book Review | 4 Comments

       I LOVE it!  I love the bits of humor, the mysteries, the world-building, the characters, totally 5 stars! The audio will release later and the narrator will be Sophie Eastlake. I’m a big fan of the Elder Races series. It has many 5 star reads. This new Moonshadow trilogy is a bit of a spin-off utilizing the same world. Moonshadow is set in the UK, while the Elder Races are in the US.  The next two books are Spellbinder and Lionhearted. I’m so curious to see if any crossover happens. So far there are only mentions of things in the Elder Races world, so this could easily be read without reading the Elder Races. But why would anyone want to miss out […]


Winter Moon by Dannika Dark

Winter Moon by Dannika Dark

Posted December 14, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

Winter Moon is a full cast holiday adventure not to be missed by Dark and Poole fans!   It’s always fun to visit the Seven series by Dannika Dark.  Add in the holidays, hold on for the fun ride dashing through the crazy that is the Weston Pack. Winter Moon allows us to revisit the couples of the series and how they spend the holidays together. Nothing like wanting until the last minute to get Christmas gifts for the loved ones and ALL of the characters in Winter Moon are guilty of it. To be fair, shifters do not put importance on gifts and the holidays like humans do, but when Lexie wants a tree for the family the pack goes into the woods to bring one […]