Genre: Paranormal

Series Audio Review: Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle

Posted November 3, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | | 3 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Series Audio Review: Experiment in Terror series by Karina HalleDarkhouse by Karina Halle
Series: Experiment in Terror #1
Narrator: Jo Raylan
Published by Tantor Audio on April 18th 2017
Genres: Paranormal
Format: Audiobook
Length: 8 hours
Source: Publisher
Audio | Goodreads
three-stars
one-flame

Take all the suspense and sexual tension of The X-Files, combine it with the charm and antics of Supernatural, and you get Darkhouse.

Well, not quite. Dex and Perry might have the chemistry of Mulder and Scully and the scares of the Winchester Brothers, but I promise you this duo is unlike anything you've seen before.

When twenty-three-year-old Perry Palomino explores a supposedly haunted lighthouse, she runs into Youtuber Dex Foray, a sexy, snarky and opportunistic ghost hunter who doesn't quite believe in ghosts. What Dex does believe in is making money and in Perry he sees a viable opportunity: create a ghost-hunting show on YouTube that would rival anything you'd see on TV and watch the dollars roll in.

But creating and filming a ghost-hunting show isn't easy when there are actual ghosts haunting them—and then some. Sometimes terrifying, often hilarious, Darkhouse is the first book in the Experiment in Terror series.

Darkhouse is a creepy and entertaining listen. Jo Rayland brings it home for me. Her voice is perfect for the characters and storyline of ghosts in a lighthouse.

I’ve had Darkhouse on my Nook for a couple of years after grabbing it when it was free. Many of my blogging buddies highly recommended it to me years ago. Why did I put it off for so long? Mood. Sometimes I’m a mood reader and I guess the mood hasn’t hit me to start the series. After seeing it was finally being published on audio and that Jo Rayland narrates I knew it was times to finally get into the Experiment in Terror series.

So the summary for Darkhouse boast “Take all the suspense and sexual tension of The X-Files, combine it with the charm and antics of Supernatural, and you get Darkhouse.” Not really. I use to watch The X-Files back in the day and Perry and Dex is no Scully and Mudler. They are for sure not Sam and Dean from Supernatural. There was pie eating scene but nothing like Dean. Then there’s the fact that Dex asks Perry to be a part of a new web based show similar to Ghostfacers features on Supernatural (but maybe not as cheesy).


The Ghostfacers theme song from episode 3.13 of Supernatural.
Darkhouse has the paranormal/supernatural elements but it’s something all itself. If I had to compare the first novel in the series to something else it’s more like a B movie in the horror genre. Not bad but not the best either, but there is potential for sure. It’s just creepy enough to be refreshing. Scary? No, not at all.

Sexual tension between Perry and Dex is there, but there’s a 10 year age gap. The fact that she is 22 and he’s 32 is a little much for me. At those ages 10 years is a huge difference. I’m not sold on them becoming a couple. Yet. Karina Halle might get me there by the end. We shall see.


Series Audio Review: Experiment in Terror series by Karina HalleRed Fox by Karina Halle
Series: Experiment in Terror #2
Narrator: Jo Raylan
Published by Tantor Audio on May 16th 2017
Genres: Paranormal
Length: 8 hours
Audio | Goodreads

In the forgotten town of Red Fox, a Navajo couple is tortured by things unseen and by motives unknown. Wild animals slink through their house in the dark, a barrage of stones pound their roof nightly, and mutilated sheep carcasses are turning up on their property. Armed with a camera and just enough to go on, Perry and Dex travel to the desolate locale, hoping to film the supernatural occurrences and add credibility to their flailing webcast. Only their show has a lot more working against them than just growing pains. Tested by dubious ranch hands, a ghost from Dex's past, and shape-shifting deception, the amateur ghost hunters must learn to trust each other in order to fight the most ancient of myths . . . or die trying.

 

While I’m still not sold on the “romance” between Perry and Dex I’m still enjoying the ghost story angle. Although in Red Fox the hunters are not dealing with ghosts but skin walkers.

I don’t know what is more confusing with this series. The creepy plot lines or the relationship between Dex and Perry. Perry has a school girl crush on the older Dex. He seems to be flirting with her at times then he remembers he has a girlfriend. Perry thinks she is alone in her interest and most times I think she is too. I’m just as perplexed by Dex as the heroine.

Maybe I’ll get some answers to the romance part in the next and last installment, Dead Sky Morning.

Jo Rylan was the perfect choice for the series. She has a great range when it comes to male and female voices. I love listening to her narrate ANYTHING.

 


Series Audio Review: Experiment in Terror series by Karina HalleDead Sky Morning by Karina Halle
Series: Experiment in Terror #3
Narrator: Jo Raylan
Published by Tantor Audio on June 20th 2017
Genres: Paranormal
Length: 10 hours
Audio |

With the Experiment in Terror show finding some success, amateur ghost hunters Perry Palomino and Dex Foray embark on their most terrifying investigation yet. A tiny, fog-shrouded island in the rough strait between British Columbia and Washington State has held a dark secret for decades: it was a former leper colony where over forty souls were left to rot, die, and bury each other. Now a functioning campground, Perry and Dex spend an isolated weekend there to investigate potential hauntings—but as the duo quickly find out, there is more to fear on D'Arcy Island than just ghosts. The island quickly pits partner against partner, spiraling the pair into madness that serves to destroy their sanity, their relationship, and their very lives.

 

Ok, I’m over the romance. I wanted to slap both Perry and Dex throughout the whole series. I feel like the romance angle should’ve been left out or made more. It’s the only thing I didn’t like about the series and it was the down fall of me loving the characters. With that aside I did enjoy the spooky stories and I think Dead Sky Morning was the creepiest story. Perry and Dex on a haunted island all alone. While if you don’t count the dead people on the island.

While I like Perry a little more than Dex, I loved Jo Rylan’s voice for Dex the best. I think if I had read the novels instead of listening I wouldn’t have like Dex at all.

 

If you’re in the mood for something a little different that may have you looking under the bed and don’t mind characters who need to be slapped then try Experiment in Terror series. I can’t recommend the audio enough. Jo Rylan is easily the best part of the experience.

About Jo Raylan

There is no shame in pleasure, or enjoying a hard-won happy ending.

Jo has extensive experience bringing the romance genre to life through her natural and intimate delivery, and commitment to the characters’ journey together.

Jo Raylan is known for engaging first person POV, credible delivery of male characters, delivery of suggestive humor, and deft handling of intimate scenes. Her voice has been described as “slow whiskey and chocolate,” and her work on the Submission series by CD Reiss was nominated for an Audie Award.

About Karina Halle

Karina Halle is a former travel writer and music journalist and The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Bestselling author of The Pact, Love, in English, The Artists Trilogy, Dirty Angels and over 20 other wild and romantic reads. She lives on an island off the coast of British Columbia with her husband and her rescue pup, where she drinks a lot of wine, hikes a lot of trails and devours a lot of books.

Halle is represented by the Waxman Leavell Agency and is both self-published and published by Simon & Schuster and Hachette in North America and in the UK.

Review Breakdown
Story (Plot)
three-stars
Writing
four-stars
Dialogue
three-half-stars
Characters
two-half-stars
Narration (Audio)
five-stars
Overall: three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Thrifty Thursday – Searching for Faith by Kristen Middleton

Thrifty Thursday – Searching for Faith by Kristen Middleton

Posted September 28, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 4 Comments

             The purpose of Thrifty Thursday is to read a book which was free (at some point). Kindle freebie on August 25, 2017  (currently $2.99 at Amazon. It is in Kindle Unlimited so only in paperback for $8.99 at Barnes & Noble as of writing this post) Overall rating 3.91 with 526 ratings and 55 reviews   This was great for me in so many ways! It has my favorite paranormal thing. I usually say magic is my favorite but really it is the mind stuff – clairvoyance, telepathy, precognition, etc.  The main character is Carissa, who is a psychic. She helps to locate missing people and sometimes knows in advance when children will be kidnapped so she can intervene. […]


Saving Mercy by Abbie Roads

Saving Mercy by Abbie Roads

Posted August 20, 2017 by Anne in Book Review, Giveaway | 52 Comments

             I won this book in a prize pack from Sourcebooks Casablanca, the publisher, but since it’s easier to read an ebook I got it from the library to read. While this is a romance, it is dark, dark, and dark. A serial killer is in prison and it looks like there is a copycat using the same style. The son of this serial killer, Cain, has a paranormal ability to provide information and works with the FBI. The characters and their emotions felt authentic. The events are things which could happen. The small paranormal bits were contained enough it wasn’t too unrealistic. I liked the spectrum of good and evil with all the shades. The complexity of characters was excellent […]


Urban Enemies

Urban Enemies

Posted August 3, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 2 Comments

            The anthology includes seventeen short stories from many authors which I have mentioned in the order within Urban Enemies.  I have read only five of these authors but they are some of my favorites so I was excited. After all, reading an anthology like this, which was edited by a mystery author, was what took me out of over ten years of reading only mysteries. It turned out to be more science fiction, paranormal romance and urban fantasy stories. I enjoyed many of the stories even though I had read none of the authors before and three series I started on immediately from it were Keri Arthur’s Riley Jensen series, Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire Mysteries and Carrie Vaughn’s Kitty Norville books. […]


A Ghost in the Glamour by Elizabeth Hunter : A Linx & Bogie Story

A Ghost in the Glamour by Elizabeth Hunter : A Linx & Bogie Story

Posted June 24, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 0 Comments

        This is a quick novella by a favorite author, Elizabeth Hunter. It’s a new world with unique characteristics. It gives us vignettes of Linx from the time she was a teenage girl starting high school, living with her mother and grandmother, to later when she is older supporting herself as an artist. The family trait is they see ghosts and can communicate with them, but the skills are all different. Linx has a ghost “attached” to her, Frank Bogle, a detective from before her time. The story gives both an old mystery with new evidence along with Linx’s growth and development, in her life and association with Frank. Linx is a strong individual with character. Frank is older than Linx plus […]


Spectacle by Rachel Vincent

Spectacle by Rachel Vincent

Posted May 26, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 1 Comment

              I listened to Menagerie on audio last year and loved it. It gutted me. I became very attached to the characters and the world. So I definitely wanted to read more. Once I had it, it was hard to start reading, knowing the emotional toll it would take. The paranormal creatures of the Menagerie had broken free but it was clear their lives would not be easy and they would be captured again. Maybe since I knew the world and parameters, this wasn’t as difficult as expected. It was still heart wrenching. This shows clearly discrimination and what amounts to slavery of sentient beings. The story gives us insight into the feelings, relationships, plans, hopes and dreams of […]


Audio Review & Giveaway: The Sinner by Amanda Stevens

Audio Review & Giveaway: The Sinner by Amanda Stevens

Posted March 6, 2017 by Jonetta in Book Review, Giveaway | 14 Comments

  It’s been almost a year since John Devlin walked away from Amelia Gray to see to his ailing grandfather and then cutoff all communication. Amelia is nursing a broken heart and has accepted a restoration assignment in Ascension, South Carolina to get her out of Charleston for a few months. One day while working in the Seven Gates Cemetery, she is “called” into the adjacent forest and discovers a circled of twelve mortsafes and sees a pair of hands gripping the grates. It’s the body of a young woman and it’s recent. Detective Lucien Kendrick is assigned to the case and he and Amelia have an immediate connection…one she’s not sure is kindred, lust or something else.   I’d never heard of a mortsafe […]


Wait for Dark by Kay Hooper

Wait for Dark by Kay Hooper

Posted March 2, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 0 Comments

               This long running Bishop Special Crimes Unit series has what is actually my favorite paranormal types.  I often say it is witches (magic) as that is more typical. But what I really LOVE best is the talents of the mind – telepathy, clairvoyance, precognition, and the like. The stories of an FBI unit with these special abilities has truly been one of my favorites. The story arcs are written in trilogies mostly. Early in the series, I would have classified them as romantic suspense. More recently, while there may be relationships or romances between characters, it is barely mentioned. The focus now is the mystery and suspense. Each story is a case with a team. So instead of […]