Genre: Romantic Comedy

No One Puts Clara in the Corner! Buns by Alice Clayton

Posted May 23, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | | 1 Comment

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

No One Puts Clara in the Corner!  Buns by Alice ClaytonBuns by Alice Clayton
Series: Hudson Valley #3
Published by Gallery Books on May 23rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Amazon | Goodreads
four-stars
four-flames

Clara Morgan is living the dream, if you can call rebranding hotels that are desperate for a new life and running any kind of marathon a dream. Which she does. But the career she loves and the endurance races that keep her adrenaline pumping have kept her too busy to put down any roots. Growing up in foster care, she’s never been able to establish traditions of her own, which may be why she’s fascinated by the rituals that generations-old family resorts are known for. She’s especially interested in the Bryant Mountain House, and not just for their secret recipe for the yummy, gooey, can’t-get-enough-of Hot Cross Buns….

Archie Bryant, the man with the Buns, is fifth generation and one-day-owner of the charming yet run-down Bryant Mountain House in Bailey Falls, New York. He’s determined to save his family’s legacy from the wrecking ball the old-fashioned way—by gritting his teeth and doing what needs to be done. There’s no way Archie will be influenced by the new hotel branding expert his father brought in to turn one hundred and fifty years of tradition on its head just to attract a faster, younger, slicker crowd. But when some of Clara’s ideas start bringing in new, paying customers, Archie can’t deny that she may have just given him a shot at keeping his resort open.

It’s sticky, it’s messy, it’s sweet, it’s Buns.

               

Buns is a fun and sexy read with heart. Classic Clayton.

Buns kept me up way past my bedtime reading about Clara and Archie. They are the classic case of opposites attract. Clara has a massive chip on her shoulder about how she grew up bouncing from foster home to foster home. She doesn’t form connections in order to protect her heart. Even with her BFFs, Roxie (Nuts) and Natalie (Cream of the Crop) she holds back by being the friend who hides behind her job that keeps her on the road. Archie is as stuffy as the Bryant Mountain House hotel and resort that Clara has been hired to help get back on track.

Archie is cold to Clara at first until he realizes she is going to take a wrecking ball to his family’s legacy. Clara sees the sexy, flirt hiding behind the tortoiseshell glasses and stiff suits. Their banner in meetings over what to do with the hotel that it turns from one kind of heat to another.

I really enjoyed seeing the couples from the two previous books play supporting roles. It was fun to see the characters a large group of friends welcoming Archie into the fold.

With witty references to The Shining, Dirty Dancing and The Martian, Alice Clayton has delivered yet another hilarious romance with Buns. But it felt like the final book in this series which would make sense if it is. So far the series has been about three friends from the city finding their guys in the small town of Bailey Falls. The only bad thing about finishing up Buns is having to wait for the next novel from Clayton. She has submitted her spot on my auto read list of authors.

 

About Alice Clayton

Alice Clayton worked in the cosmetics industry for over a decade before picking up a pen (read: laptop). She enjoys gardening but not weeding, baking but not cleaning up, and finally convinced her long-time boyfriend to marry her. And she finally got her Bernese Mountain Dog.

Review Breakdown
Story (Plot)
four-stars
Writing
four-stars
Dialogue
four-stars
Characters
four-stars
Overall: four-stars

Joy Ride by Lauren Blakely

Joy Ride by Lauren Blakely

Posted May 1, 2017 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review | 0 Comments

I love jumping into a Lauren Blakely novel! I know any time I pick up a romance by Lauren Blakely that I’m going to laugh, swoon and possibly cry (mostly from the laughter but there’s some touching moments too). Joy Ride delivers like all the other novels by Blakely I’ve had the pleasure of experiencing so far. I must confuse I usually listen since  Sebastian York is her usual narrator but I couldn’t wait to dive into Henley and Max’s story. But you know what, I totally heard York’s voice in my head as I read Joy Ride and I will at some point purchase the audio format and listen to it. Her books are excellent and I know that will I find myself in a […]


Almost a Bride by Jo Watson: Review Excerpt & Giveaway

Almost a Bride by Jo Watson: Review Excerpt & Giveaway

Posted January 31, 2017 by Jonetta in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | 4 Comments

    In just one day, Annie Anderson’s life turned sideways and then completely upside down when she comes home early, finding her boyfriend in bed with another woman. If that wasn’t sad enough, she ends up losing her new job on the first day. And yet it gets worse. When she goes away for a much needed excursion to a fabulous island with her friends, who shows up there but the cheating ex and his gorgeous arm candy.   As bad as Annie’s day from hell was, it was related in such a way that I couldn’t stop laughing. While my heart broke for her, Annie’s story is so cleverly written that I also found the humor in the situation. The escapades during the […]


Full Package by Lauren Blakely

Full Package by Lauren Blakely

Posted January 14, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

                    The team of Blakely and York never fails to entertain! Hot doctor and sweet baker that’s Chase and Josie. I love couples that start off as best friends and turns into lovers who have been in love with each other for a long time but are too afraid to act on their attraction. Chase is best friends with Wyatt from Well Hung, who is also Josie’s brother. Josie is Nick from Mister O sister. Everyone knew these two had a thing for each other it only took them becoming roommates to figure it out for themselves. Full Package is a fun and sexy friends to lovers romance from Lauren Blakely. These group of friends and siblings always have great […]


The Sexy One by Lauren Blakely

The Sexy One by Lauren Blakely

Posted November 4, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | 5 Comments

      A sexy and sweet romance about “forbidden” love between a hot single dad and his nanny. Simon and Abby make a great team in raising his young daughter. Their romance starts with instant-a-lust they neither will act on but over time the lust turns to love and they can’t fight it anymore. See what happens with Lauren Blakely brings these two fun characters together in The Sexy One. The dual narration really works for this title. Sebastian York is a favorite of mine and he has narrated many of Blakley’s titles and always does an amazing job. The Sexy One is the first I’ve listened to by Blakley that switches POVs from the male to female characters (all the others I’ve read […]


Well Hung by Lauren Blakely

Well Hung by Lauren Blakely

Posted September 28, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

    What Happens In Vegas . . . Stays in Vegas We first met Wyatt in Mister O, he is Nick’s twin brother and Natalie is Charlotte in Big Rock sister. And they first meet each other through Charlotte and Spencer (Wyatt’s friend) when they get together in Big Rock. Natalie is looking for a full-time job and Wyatt needs help getting the paperwork part of his business together. So, Wyatt hires Natalie as his administrative assistant for WH Construction Co. and that makes things a bit sticky when they gave into the lust they both have been feeling all those months in the same small office. Well Hung is a fun and sexy romance between boss the assistant but not the same as other stories […]


Mister O by Lauren Blakely

Mister O by Lauren Blakely

Posted May 15, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

      Mister O had me smiling the whole time I was listening. The team of Lauren Blakely and Sebastian York have cemented a place on my auto-listen list of author and narrator pairings. Blakely’s writing is brought to life perfectly by York’s performance. She writes great characters and with the romance being told from the guy’s POV, you get a funny view of romance. York is possibly the best narrator for romances told through the male’s POV. Mister O is a stand alone but it follows the romance between Nick the best friend of Spencer from Big Rock and Spencer’s little sister, Harper. I love this trope in romances and Blakely wrote a great story using it. Mister O is Nick Hammer, a cartoonist with a hit […]


Big Rock by Lauren Blakely

Big Rock by Lauren Blakely

Posted March 9, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

      Who will enjoy Big Rock by Lauren Blakely? Fans of sexy romances. Fans of laugh your ass off romances. Fans of best friends to lovers romances. Fans of Emma Chase, Alice Clayton and Christina Lauren will easily enjoy Spencer and Charlotte’s story. How should readers experience Big Rock? AUDIOBOOK! OH. MY. GOD. AUDIOBOOK! I came for Sebastian York and stayed for the story. Sebastian’s voice and Lauren’s writing are a rock star team! I’m not saying that you won’t enjoy Big Rock if you read it but you are missing out on a great performance if you don’t listen. Sebastian is the best narrator for romances told through the guy’s POV and he delivers a grade A performance for those heroes that are […]