Genre: Urban Fantasy

Review: Mind Over Monsters by Jennifer Harlow

Review: Mind Over Monsters by Jennifer Harlow

Posted October 19, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

Mind Over Monsters is very well written with characters I love and can’t wait to read more about them. I’ve not read many books where the author titles each chapter but I really like it, cause it sets the tone for what’s coming up and with a chapter entitled “A Machete Is a Girl’s Best Friend” you know that the book is freaky funny. Mind Over Monsters is a great urban fantasy read with mystery, some gore (it’s going to get messy when you start cutting up zombies), and there is also a little romance, that looks like it could turn out to be a really good triangle between Beatrice, Will and Oliver. Think X-Men with paranormal creatures, where the guys are monsters too. The […]


Deadtown by Nancy Holzner

Deadtown by Nancy Holzner

Posted October 4, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 5 Comments

Fans of Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series and Chole Neill’s Chicagoland Vampires series will want to check out Deadtown by Nancy Holzner. It has the same type of feel to it, the heroine, Victory Vaughn, is snarky and kicks ass. Oh and she’s a shifter that has a kind-of-sort-of boyfriend that’s a werewolf. Her roommate is a vamp, Juliet, like as in Romeo and Juliet. She has a teenage zombie as a sidekick and she just happens to hunt demons. After a mutated plague hit Boston, it turned some of the populace into zombies. Now a large part of Boston is called Deadtown and all non-humans are forced to live in that area. The non-humans are seen as monsters and don’t have the same rights […]


Retro Demonology by Jana Oliver

Retro Demonology by Jana Oliver

Posted September 15, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

This is a very short story that introduces you to Riley Blackthorne. Riley is a 17 year old demon trapper on her first solo trapping. She answers a call to a house to trap a Grand-One Biblo Demon, which the lowest grand demon. The Biblo is 3 inches tall and loves to running amuck by spraying its green urine all over everything and giving everyone in its path the finger. Just when Riley thinks she has the demon contained it gets loose from the Sippy cup and causes a car accident. Retro Demonology was a fun glance into The Trapper Series by Jana Oliver. I can’t wait to get deeper into Riley’s world when I start book 1, Forsaken.        


REVIEW: Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst

REVIEW: Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst

Posted September 13, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

  I was first attracted to Drink, Slay, Love because of the lovely cover (yes, I know don’t judge a book by its cover) and then I read the synopsis and was even more intrigued by the were-unicorn idea. I thought now there’s a were I’ve not heard of before; so I had to try it. I devoured this book in about two nights; long late nights because I grabbed it from Simon & Schuster Galley Grab and let it set on my Nook for too long and only had 3 days to read it before it expired. I got to the middle of it yesterday and thought OMG I have to finish this book. I needed to know what happened to Pearl so I […]


Review: One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost

Review: One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost

Posted September 8, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

I have been looking forward to reading One Grave at a Time ever since I finished This Side of the Grave. I am an enormous fan of The Night Huntress series. I have a love/hate relationship with Cat; I love her because she is one of the most kick ass heroines I’ve ever read but I hate that she gets to have wild monkey sex with Bones. {runs to grab my copy of One Foot in the Grave to re-read Chapter 32} One Grave at a Time picks up where This Side of the Grave ended. So we get to see Justina, Tate and Don, of course. A plot line gets started with the old team that doesn’t get wrapped up but I’m sure we […]


Review: The Paladin by Ken Newman

Review: The Paladin by Ken Newman

Posted July 25, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 5 Comments

The Paladin by Ken Newman was a nice change of reading pace for me (meaning no smut LOL). How can you not like a book with a fallen angel named Larry?! Ok so Larry recruits Harry Smith, a kindergarten teacher, to help him with his fight against evil. Harry has an unhealthy obsession with a book character named the Blue Fox (don’t we all have that obsession with a character?). Harry dreams of having an action filled life-like the Blue Fox and when she meets her new student, Larry Angel, she gets her wish. After passing Larry’s test, Harry is transformed into Maggie Black. Maggie (aka Harry) is a kick ass chick that swings a bad ass sword named Kali. That’s right the sword has […]


Review: The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters by Sierra Dean

Review: The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters by Sierra Dean

Posted July 2, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

One word AWESOME!The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters is the prequel to Something Secret This Way Comes {I’ve not read SSTWC yet but once I’m done with this review I’m running over to B&N and ordering it for my Nook!!} This is a fast pace novella about Secret McQueen, a half vampire, half werewolf assassin for the Vampire Council. And since Secret is non-human and has a dangerous job she rarely gets the chance to go out on a date like a regular gal. But when her friend Mercedes fixes her up on a blind date with Detective Tyler she decides to go. But while she is getting ready for her date, her liaison with the Council and ex-GQ model, Holden shows up to give her, her next assignment. After […]


Review: Blood & Spirits by Dennis Sharpe

Review: Blood & Spirits by Dennis Sharpe

Posted July 1, 2011 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

First I’d like to thank Mr. Sharpe for contacting me and giving me the opportunity to read his awesome book. I’ve never read anything by a male author before and the only reason is the genres I usually read are mostly written by female authors. But don’t be fooled, Sharpe does an excellent job of building his female heroine, Veronica. I never once thought about the author being male while reading the book. My co-workers (mostly male) tease me about the books I read, they call it “vampire porn”. One asked me what I was reading the other day and I told him about the Blood & Spirits and that it was written by a male author. So he said, “What is the foreplay in […]