Narrator: Erin deWard

Audio Review: Into the Light by Aleatha Romig

Posted December 15, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | | 2 Comments

Audio Review: Into the Light by Aleatha RomigInto the Light by Aleatha Romig
Series: The Light #1
Narrator: Erin deWard, Kevin T. Collins, Noah Michael Levine
Published by Audible Studios on June 14, 2016
Genres: Mystery
Format: Audiobook
Length: 13 hours, 17 minutes
Source: Purchased
Audio | Goodreads

Sara Adams awakes blind, unable to remember the most basic details of her life, but her darkness seems a blessing when she discovers the terrors of The Light.

Stella Montgomery investigates the news from the mean streets of Detroit, where she's noticed a disturbing trend: Young women are vanishing. When her best friend disappears, Stella digs for answers - despite warnings from her police detective boyfriend - following a twisted trail that leads her through the city's most dangerous and forsaken precincts. There she uncovers something more sinister than she could have imagined: a shadowy organization known as The Light, led by the enigmatic Father Gabriel.

As Sara struggles to understand her place in the strange world she's awakened to - an oppressive cult demanding unquestioning obedience - and her feelings for Jacob, the husband she can't recall and whose harsh and tender attentions confuse and beguile her, Stella risks all to discover the truth. But enlightenment always comes with a price....


A young woman named Sara Adams awakens in total darkness and with no memories. She’s being treated for injuries suffered in a crash with her eyes bandaged and a cast on her leg. Her only lifeline is her husband, Jacob, who she doesn’t remember. All she knows is what she’s being told, that she’s a member of an organization called The Light.

Stella Montgomery is an investigator for a television news station and begins looking into the mysterious disappearance of young women in Detroit. She thinks it may tie into the disappearance of her best friend and co-worker who vanished two weeks ago. Things get creepy when she looks into Gabriel Clark, the elusive head of the religious organization called The Light.

This isn’t your run-of-the-mill or standard cult though it may first appear that way. Sara’s and Stella’s stories are told in their own narratives, along with Jacob’s so the three perspectives keep things moving and interesting. I found Sara’s awakening fascinating as she was a blank canvas, gathering information in the same way we took it in. The challenge was to figure out how the three would ultimately connect.

I had a feeling this would end in a cliffhanger and that it did. Boy, was it a doozy. I must admit I had my suspicions about some things but there was a part that did come as a surprise. I loved the narration, especially the use of multiple performers. That helped with the transitions and made a weird story even more bizarre. I liked it and am intrigued. On to the next book and I’m glad I waited until it was available.


Listen to a clip!

About Aleatha Romig

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Aleatha has raised three children with her high school sweetheart and husband of nearly thirty years. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she’s not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time a with her family and friends. Her other pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!

Aleatha released her first novel, CONSEQUENCES, in August of 2011.
CONSEQUENCES became a bestselling series with five novels and two companions released from 2011 through 2015. The compelling and epic story of Anthony and Claire Rawlings has graced more than half a million e-readers. Aleatha released the first of her series TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE, INSIDIOUS, in the fall of 2014. These stand alone thrillers continue Aleatha’s twisted style with an increase in heat.
In the fall of 2015, Aleatha moved head first into the world of dark romance with the release of BETRAYAL, the first of her five novel INFIDELITY series. She also began her traditional publishing career with Thomas and Mercer. Her books INTO THE LIGHT and AWAY FROM THE DARK will be published through this mystery/thriller publisher in 2016.

Aleatha is a “Published Author’s Network” member of the Romance Writers of America and represented by Danielle Egan-Miller of Browne & Miller Literary Associates.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: