Publisher: Forever

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted May 16, 2017 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | , | 0 Comments

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

I received this book for free from NetGalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lethal Lies by Rebecca ZanettiLethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #2
Narrator: Karen White
Published by Forever, Hachette Audio on May 16, 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Format: ARC, Audiobook
Length: 13 hours
Source: NetGalley, Publisher
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Goodreads
four-stars
three-flames

A deadly secret can't stay buried forever . . .

Revenge. It's the only thing that will help Anya Best sleep at night. The serial killer who murdered her sister is on the loose, and Anya will stop at nothing to put him behind bars—even use herself as bait to lure him out of hiding. But she can't do this alone.

Private investigator Heath Jones's job is to bring bastards to justice. This time it's personal. He knew the Copper Killer's latest victim so when her sister asks for his help, he's all in. But when Anya uses the media to taunt the killer, she exposes Heath's identity, putting them both in jeopardy. Now, secrets buried long ago are coming to light and the forces determined to destroy him are watching Heath's every move, waiting to exact their own revenge. And they'll use anything and anyone to get to Heath.

Anne’s Audio Review

I was so excited to get this audio, since I had also listened to Deadly Silence.  In between these two audios in the Blood Brothers series , I listened to the entire  Sin Brothers series which is related.  The Sin Brothers came first if you are OCD like me.

Karen White narrated both series so I enjoyed the consistency. While the women have different personalities, most of them sounded the same to me. The men had a little more variation. These are professional,  comfortably paced audio books.

The overall story arc continues and I’m happy we learn more in each installment. The Blood brothers were rather isolated in childhood, so they are learning more about themselves and their history all the time. This book also has the mystery of the Copper serial killer for their investigation firm and we see the resolution. I like the vignettes of the Sin Brothers giving us some tidbits on the latest with them.

These are all solid, interesting books with layered plots having both mystery, character growth, and the overall story which ties in to the world building.  Each has strong characters, plenty of action, some intelligent planning, and a sexy romance. I can’t wait for the next, Twisted Truths, which is Denver’s story releasing November 14, 2017.


Jennifer’s Review

I’ve been waiting to get my hands on Lethal Lies ever since I finished Deadly Silence. The killer serial arc continuing from the first book was a big draw. I love that the suspense in the Blood Brothers series interlock with the original Sin Brothers series about the other group of brothers, but also has its own flavor.

Anya’s sister is a FBI agent who is working with Heath on the Copper Killer and she because really involved in the case making it necessary for her to now work with Heath the sexy and dangerous P.I. with secrets he’s not willing to share with her even after a hot night of sex spent together.

The good Dr. Madison and Sheriff Cobb are back as the gruesome duo, but the Copper Killer makes them look like puppies. Rebecca Zanetti has really built an entertaining and suspenseful world and characters with both her series about a ban of brothers who found each other and learned to love like a family once they survived their horrific childhoods.

The mystery of the Copper Killer is solved somewhat by the end of the novel but like all great villains they get away for one last chance at madness. I’m highly anticipating Denver’s story, Twisted Truths will be my favorite of the series but we’ll have to wait until November to find out. I believe it is the last book since Denver is the last brother in this group.

Romantic Suspense fans will want to read Lethal Lies, but since it’s part of a series and has connections to the Sin Brothers series I highly recommend starting with the first book in the Sin Bros series, Forgotten Sins (It’s like watching Marvel’s Avenger movies without watching the individual character’s movies. Sure you can enjoy Iron Man, Captain American, Thor, etc in the Avengers, but you would have a better appreciation for them if you got their back stories.) or at the very least Deadly Silence.

 


Giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

LETHAL LIES EXCERPT

She swallowed and met his gaze. “All right. Let me get this straight. We’re going undercover to flush out a killer who’s obsessed with me, and you’re offering to play at being my man for real with no strings or future?” She hoisted the bag onto her shoulder. “That’s some ego. Are you that good in bed?”

“Yes.” And that was definite interest in her eyes.

She clicked her tongue. “I’ll keep your offer in mind.”

“You do that.” He maintained a low and calm voice. “While you’re considering, let’s look at the situation. You have publicly made me your fiancé in order to draw out a killer, which means I have to act as such. Any halfway intelligent law enforcement officer or private investigator would keep his redheaded fiancée very close after the stunt you just pulled. If you’re not with me, the killer is going to be very suspicious.”

She stilled, expressions crossing her face rapidly. “That’s a good point,” she said slowly.

Yeah. Sometimes reality helped him out a little. Plus, the killer had a hard-on for her, and he must already have plans to take her at some point. She’d just upped the timeline. “In addition, you need protection around the clock now, and I’m willing to provide that. So while you’re keeping my offer in mind, we’ll be staying in the same hotel room or same apartment.” He made sure he had her full attention. “While we plan the wedding, of course.”

Her challenging smile thrilled something inside him. “That’s fair.”

He stepped back to give her some space. “Good. Are you ready?”

“Yes.” She looked around the room. “I do have to ask. What if I didn’t agree with you about your keeping secrets from me? Considering people shoot at you, and I’m going to be at your side, it seems fair that you tell me who these people are.” She cocked her head to the side and focused back on him.

“I have more immediate concerns than being fair,” he said smoothly. “You brought me into this mess.”

A frown drew down her eyebrows. “Listen. I want an answer about you.”

“I just gave you one.” At her mulish expression, he searched for better words that wouldn’t end in an argument.

Suddenly, the door blew wide open and bounced loudly off the table. “Anya!” he yelled, jumping for her.

About Karen White

Karen White is a classically trained actress who has been recording audio books since 1999 and has well over 150 books to her credit and is a proud member of SAG-AFTRA. Honored to be included inAudiofile’s Best Voices 2010 and 2011, she’s also an Audie Finalist and Best Audiobook of the Year winner for 2009, 2010 and 2011 (The Hemingses of Monticello by Annette Gordon Reed, Too Good to be True by Erin Arvedlund, and Everything That Rises Must Converge by Flannery O’Connor) and she has earned multiple Audiofile Earphones Awards, recently for and You Had Me at Woof by Julie Klam and Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz. Publishers Weekly says of Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick, “Karen White delivers a stunning reading, her character interpretations are confident and well-rounded, and she forges a strong bond with the audience.” Speaking of Audiobooks says of her, “Karen is one of my auto-buy narrators – if I think a book may interest me, her narration will sway me to give it a try.”

About Rebecca Zanetti

New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti has worked as an art curator, Senate aide, lawyer, college professor, and a hearing examiner – only to culminate it all in stories about Alpha males and the women who claim them. She is a member of RWA, has won awards for her works throughout the industry, and has a journalism degree with a poly sci emphasis from Pepperdine University as well as a Juris Doctorate from the University of Idaho.

Growing up amid the glorious backdrops and winter wonderlands of the Pacific Northwest has given Rebecca fantastic scenery and adventures to weave into her stories. She resides in the wild north with her husband, children, and extended family who inspire her every day-or at the very least give her plenty of characters to write about.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Blog tour:  Forever Mine by Erin Nicholas

Blog tour: Forever Mine by Erin Nicholas

Posted March 27, 2017 by Anne in Blog Tour, Book Review | 1 Comment

      I read the first book in the Opposites Attract series ,  Completely Yours which was 4.5 stars of smart, sexy fun. Of course, I wanted to read more. I was not disappointed. Maya is so strong, open and with a huge heart. She willingly risks everything to help others, do what is right or get what she wants. She is so brave. Alex is extremely smart and capable, but he has always played it safe. He has a lot happening in his life, can he risk himself enough to change and grow? I enjoyed these characters and they made me feel, care and cheer for them. They are more than average folks, which hits my reality meter. Some things work out for them a […]


Rule Master by Sienna Snow

Rule Master by Sienna Snow

Posted March 18, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 1 Comment

    I loved getting introduced to Milla and Lex in the first book, Rule Breaker so I couldn’t wait to get their story. Their story was great! Since we get the start of Lex and Mills’s story in Rule Breaker there will be a mild SPOILER AHEAD. Lex and Mills have been secretly married for ten years. There has been a few people who knew of their relationship but only one person knew they were married. Why secretly? Milla has family issues, well really mommy issues. Her mother is a major bitch and because of some rules where the family business is considered Milla has to kept her marriage to Lex a secret in order to inherit her part of the business. This is a big issue they deal with […]


Rule Breaker by Sienna Snow

Rule Breaker by Sienna Snow

Posted March 15, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 3 Comments

      Read It, Track It is a way  to track books for my reading challenges and they will be super short. Rule Breaker is my introduction to Sienna Snow and I have to say it wasn’t a bad first meeting. Snow writes great strong female characters and sexy male counterparts.  Rule Breaker is a romance built around two characters that get a second chance at love but must go through some heart ache and deadly events to get their HEA and boy did they earn it! While Rule Breaker focused on a D/s relationship it wasn’t too heavy into kink that readers who don’t normally read the genre would be turned off. Snow’s writing grabbed me and had me starting the second book, Rule […]


Temptation Bay by Anna Sullivan

Temptation Bay by Anna Sullivan

Posted February 10, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 2 Comments

      This is the first book I ever received on Netgalley about 4 years ago. I can’t remember why I got it or why I didn’t read it. The COYER challenge got me to pick it up and read and review. Dex comes to an island which is like a small town with everyone knows everyone and is into their business. He is trying to solve the mysterious disappearance of a baby during the Prohibition. Maggie is an independent small business owner who has a charter business. She flies him to the island. Dex is attracted to her and sees her as a fun way to gather information quietly. Neither wants a relationship. Maggie is not willing to trust a man. Dex has […]


Almost a Bride by Jo Watson

Almost a Bride by Jo Watson

Posted January 31, 2017 by Jonetta in Blog Tour, Book Review | 4 Comments

    In just one day, Annie Anderson’s life turned sideways and then completely upside down when she comes home early, finding her boyfriend in bed with another woman. If that wasn’t sad enough, she ends up losing her new job on the first day. And yet it gets worse. When she goes away for a much needed excursion to a fabulous island with her friends, who shows up there but the cheating ex and his gorgeous arm candy.   As bad as Annie’s day from hell was, it was related in such a way that I couldn’t stop laughing. While my heart broke for her, Annie’s story is so cleverly written that I also found the humor in the situation. The escapades during the […]


Release Blitz: Completely Yours by Erin Nicholas

Release Blitz: Completely Yours by Erin Nicholas

Posted December 22, 2016 by Anne in Blog Tour, Book Review | 0 Comments

     So this was a surprise and a great one! I was out of sorts and this was exactly what I needed. A thought-provoking story which also snuck into my heart. Two very different people shutting themselves off from relationships to avoid getting hurt. Their situations and how they resolved them was smart and very believable. Zach is an EMT who takes care of everyone. Kiera is a graphics designer on the hottest LARP game on the market. They handle things very differently emotionally and in their style, which means they can learn a lot from each other. Learning about each other, they learn about themselves. And it’s awesome! I liked them both. They were strong and smart and caring and competent. I appreciate […]


Change of Heart by Nicole Jacquelyn

Change of Heart by Nicole Jacquelyn

Posted November 23, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

    I enjoyed this story so much more than the first book in the series! So very glad I decided to continue on.   Abraham (Bram) Evans certainly has his issues but at least he evolves through the story. He was adopted by the family that first fostered him and his twin brother at age six. Anita (Ani) Martin was also fostered by the same family but after Bram had left and was on his own. Their relationship could be described as acrimonious at best…until it wasn’t.   The thing I like most about all of the characters in this series are their authenticity. Bram and Anita aren’t always likable individually and most definitely as a couple. What they are is realistic, behaving more […]