Publisher: Hachette Audio

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted May 16, 2017 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | , | 0 Comments

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

I received this book for free from NetGalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lethal Lies by Rebecca ZanettiLethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #2
Narrator: Karen White
Published by Forever, Hachette Audio on May 16, 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Format: ARC, Audiobook
Length: 13 hours
Source: NetGalley, Publisher
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Goodreads
four-stars
three-flames

A deadly secret can't stay buried forever . . .

Revenge. It's the only thing that will help Anya Best sleep at night. The serial killer who murdered her sister is on the loose, and Anya will stop at nothing to put him behind bars—even use herself as bait to lure him out of hiding. But she can't do this alone.

Private investigator Heath Jones's job is to bring bastards to justice. This time it's personal. He knew the Copper Killer's latest victim so when her sister asks for his help, he's all in. But when Anya uses the media to taunt the killer, she exposes Heath's identity, putting them both in jeopardy. Now, secrets buried long ago are coming to light and the forces determined to destroy him are watching Heath's every move, waiting to exact their own revenge. And they'll use anything and anyone to get to Heath.

Anne’s Audio Review

I was so excited to get this audio, since I had also listened to Deadly Silence.  In between these two audios in the Blood Brothers series , I listened to the entire  Sin Brothers series which is related.  The Sin Brothers came first if you are OCD like me.

Karen White narrated both series so I enjoyed the consistency. While the women have different personalities, most of them sounded the same to me. The men had a little more variation. These are professional,  comfortably paced audio books.

The overall story arc continues and I’m happy we learn more in each installment. The Blood brothers were rather isolated in childhood, so they are learning more about themselves and their history all the time. This book also has the mystery of the Copper serial killer for their investigation firm and we see the resolution. I like the vignettes of the Sin Brothers giving us some tidbits on the latest with them.

These are all solid, interesting books with layered plots having both mystery, character growth, and the overall story which ties in to the world building.  Each has strong characters, plenty of action, some intelligent planning, and a sexy romance. I can’t wait for the next, Twisted Truths, which is Denver’s story releasing November 14, 2017.


Jennifer’s Review

I’ve been waiting to get my hands on Lethal Lies ever since I finished Deadly Silence. The killer serial arc continuing from the first book was a big draw. I love that the suspense in the Blood Brothers series interlock with the original Sin Brothers series about the other group of brothers, but also has its own flavor.

Anya’s sister is a FBI agent who is working with Heath on the Copper Killer and she because really involved in the case making it necessary for her to now work with Heath the sexy and dangerous P.I. with secrets he’s not willing to share with her even after a hot night of sex spent together.

The good Dr. Madison and Sheriff Cobb are back as the gruesome duo, but the Copper Killer makes them look like puppies. Rebecca Zanetti has really built an entertaining and suspenseful world and characters with both her series about a ban of brothers who found each other and learned to love like a family once they survived their horrific childhoods.

The mystery of the Copper Killer is solved somewhat by the end of the novel but like all great villains they get away for one last chance at madness. I’m highly anticipating Denver’s story, Twisted Truths will be my favorite of the series but we’ll have to wait until November to find out. I believe it is the last book since Denver is the last brother in this group.

Romantic Suspense fans will want to read Lethal Lies, but since it’s part of a series and has connections to the Sin Brothers series I highly recommend starting with the first book in the Sin Bros series, Forgotten Sins (It’s like watching Marvel’s Avenger movies without watching the individual character’s movies. Sure you can enjoy Iron Man, Captain American, Thor, etc in the Avengers, but you would have a better appreciation for them if you got their back stories.) or at the very least Deadly Silence.

 


Giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

LETHAL LIES EXCERPT

She swallowed and met his gaze. “All right. Let me get this straight. We’re going undercover to flush out a killer who’s obsessed with me, and you’re offering to play at being my man for real with no strings or future?” She hoisted the bag onto her shoulder. “That’s some ego. Are you that good in bed?”

“Yes.” And that was definite interest in her eyes.

She clicked her tongue. “I’ll keep your offer in mind.”

“You do that.” He maintained a low and calm voice. “While you’re considering, let’s look at the situation. You have publicly made me your fiancé in order to draw out a killer, which means I have to act as such. Any halfway intelligent law enforcement officer or private investigator would keep his redheaded fiancée very close after the stunt you just pulled. If you’re not with me, the killer is going to be very suspicious.”

She stilled, expressions crossing her face rapidly. “That’s a good point,” she said slowly.

Yeah. Sometimes reality helped him out a little. Plus, the killer had a hard-on for her, and he must already have plans to take her at some point. She’d just upped the timeline. “In addition, you need protection around the clock now, and I’m willing to provide that. So while you’re keeping my offer in mind, we’ll be staying in the same hotel room or same apartment.” He made sure he had her full attention. “While we plan the wedding, of course.”

Her challenging smile thrilled something inside him. “That’s fair.”

He stepped back to give her some space. “Good. Are you ready?”

“Yes.” She looked around the room. “I do have to ask. What if I didn’t agree with you about your keeping secrets from me? Considering people shoot at you, and I’m going to be at your side, it seems fair that you tell me who these people are.” She cocked her head to the side and focused back on him.

“I have more immediate concerns than being fair,” he said smoothly. “You brought me into this mess.”

A frown drew down her eyebrows. “Listen. I want an answer about you.”

“I just gave you one.” At her mulish expression, he searched for better words that wouldn’t end in an argument.

Suddenly, the door blew wide open and bounced loudly off the table. “Anya!” he yelled, jumping for her.

About Karen White

Karen White is a classically trained actress who has been recording audio books since 1999 and has well over 150 books to her credit and is a proud member of SAG-AFTRA. Honored to be included inAudiofile’s Best Voices 2010 and 2011, she’s also an Audie Finalist and Best Audiobook of the Year winner for 2009, 2010 and 2011 (The Hemingses of Monticello by Annette Gordon Reed, Too Good to be True by Erin Arvedlund, and Everything That Rises Must Converge by Flannery O’Connor) and she has earned multiple Audiofile Earphones Awards, recently for and You Had Me at Woof by Julie Klam and Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz. Publishers Weekly says of Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick, “Karen White delivers a stunning reading, her character interpretations are confident and well-rounded, and she forges a strong bond with the audience.” Speaking of Audiobooks says of her, “Karen is one of my auto-buy narrators – if I think a book may interest me, her narration will sway me to give it a try.”

About Rebecca Zanetti

New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti has worked as an art curator, Senate aide, lawyer, college professor, and a hearing examiner – only to culminate it all in stories about Alpha males and the women who claim them. She is a member of RWA, has won awards for her works throughout the industry, and has a journalism degree with a poly sci emphasis from Pepperdine University as well as a Juris Doctorate from the University of Idaho.

Growing up amid the glorious backdrops and winter wonderlands of the Pacific Northwest has given Rebecca fantastic scenery and adventures to weave into her stories. She resides in the wild north with her husband, children, and extended family who inspire her every day-or at the very least give her plenty of characters to write about.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted April 7, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 2 Comments

Jennifer’s Thoughts Zanetti’s Blood Brothers series is a spin-off of her Sin Brothers series but don’t worry you can pick up Deadly Silence without reading the former series. There is some cross-over with minor characters and the background of what happened to both set of brothers but new readers won’t be lost and fans of the Sin Brothers will enjoy the connection. Deadly Silence is a sexy, action pack, romantic suspense thrill ride. Ryker and Zara have been having a casual ‘relationship’, the kind where when he’s in town she cooks him dinner and he supplies the desert. Zara has never had a no strings attached kind of affair before and she’s finding it harder and harder to keep it casual with in her heart when […]


Audio: The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer

Audio: The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer

Posted February 17, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 4 Comments

             I had no idea what to expect, so The Chemist was an awesome surprise. I loved it from beginning to end. If it were a book, it would be a page turner but since I was listening, I wanted to listen ALL THE TIME. There were so many things to love! It had great characters, SCIENCE, action / adventure, romance, humor and dogs! The problem with listening is not knowing how to spell anyone’s name and not being able to highlight the humorous quotes or make notes in the way I would with an ebook. I think it takes longer, too, since I can read faster but it is such a pleasure. Ellen Archer was great at capturing the emotion […]


Audio Review: The Bachelor Auction by Rachel Van Dyken

Audio Review: The Bachelor Auction by Rachel Van Dyken

Posted February 2, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 1 Comment

               This is a modern day Cinderella story. Which means it is a classic billionaire guy rescues penniless gal. This is not my favorite troupe. At All. I was offered both the ebook and the audio for review and decided on the audio. So how did this work out? I was pleased with The Bachelor Auction mostly. The characters were either well-developed or overblown caricatures of a cliche type. Our Cinderella, Jane, is easy to love. She is hard-working, kind, compassionate and honest, even when treated badly. Her sisters are unrealistic stereotypes but it works. Our prince charming, Brock, isn’t a bad guy either. He’s always been a serious hard worker, trying to do what’s right for his family. His […]


Audio Review: Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

Audio Review: Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

Posted November 15, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 6 Comments

    On an uneventful August evening, a charter plane takes off from Martha’s Vineyard for what was to be a short flight back to New York. Two of the 11 people on board were wealthy and powerful so when it went down, it was more than the typical media disaster sensation. And, when two survivors suddenly emerged, they set off an even bigger and sometimes dangerous media event.   This story couldn’t be more timely, illustrating the actual facts of the investigation with the flawed media coverage as a backdrop. It chillingly points out how “journalism” has been reduced to creating the news instead of reporting. The author effectively tells the story from each passenger’s point of view leading up to that fateful moment, […]


Forevermore by Kristen Callihan

Forevermore by Kristen Callihan

Posted June 28, 2016 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | 4 Comments

Kristen Callihan’s Darkest London series as been a 5-star ride for me from the beginning to the near end. While Forevermore wasn’t a 5-star for me it was pretty damn close. What kept if from the perfect rating? The additional of the whole series cast. I can see where some of the earlier characters needed to make an appearance but a few felt like they were just thrown in because the series was wrapping up and it was their last time to make a cameo. That’s my only complaint about Forevermore and the end of the Darkest London series by Callihan. I felt like St. John aka Sin and Layla lost a little page time to Archer and I’m not sure why Archer needed as much page […]


Audio Review: The Last Mile by David Baldacci

Audio Review: The Last Mile by David Baldacci

Posted June 21, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 4 Comments

     Amos Decker is on his way to Washington, D. C. to join an FBI special task force headed by Ross Bogart. They’ll be investigating cold and questionable cases. When he hears a news report about a former college football star who was on death row for murdering his parents and just escaped execution when someone suddenly confessed to the crime, it’s no surprise that Decker wants this to be the first project of the task force.  I loved this story from the start as every scene was compelling, interesting and provided something new to ponder. It went from being fairly uncomplicated to becoming a thing with so many tentacles that it tangled my brain in a good way. Decker’s mind continues to be […]


Audio Review: Last Man Standing by David Baldacci

Audio Review: Last Man Standing by David Baldacci

Posted March 1, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

    The intrigue starts at the opening page when Web London, a highly-trained sniper in the FBI’s Hostage Rescue Team (HRT), proceeds with his team into an ill-fated operation. When the dust (and guns) settle, he’s the last man standing in the midst of some very strange circumstances. What follows next is Web’s struggle to not only understand what happened but to clear his name.   There are layers and layers of mystery and subterfuge, with a host of characters inside and outside of the Bureau along with some criminal elements and shady people. Understanding them, their connections and possible motivations made this an interesting and exciting experience. I looked forward to listening to this story daily and actually awakened in the middle of […]