Publisher: Loveswept

Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted August 2, 2017 by Jennifer in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway, Stomp vs Romp 2017 | | 0 Comments

Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon

Eye Candy by Jessica LemmonEye Candy by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Real Love #1
Published by Loveswept on July 25th 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Goodreads
three-half-stars
three-half-flames

Jacqueline: As an adult woman--and the vice president of a marketing firm--I shouldn't be waiting by my office window to ogle the mystery man who jogs by every morning at 11:45. Sure, he's a gorgeous, perfect specimen of the human race, but I can't bring myself to hit on a total stranger. However, my best friend-slash-colleague Vince Carson thinks I should do more than talk to the guy. In fact, he's borderline obsessive about "getting me laid." (His words.) But the more time we spend together, the more it's clear: The one I'm falling for is Vince.

Vince: Jackie Butler's got it bad for some pompous, over-pumped A-hole who struts his stuff past her window. That doesn't bother me. I know she deserves nice things. What does bother me is that she friend-zoned me big-time last year, so I can't ask her out myself. But what if I set her up with Mr. Steroids? Then, when he breaks her heart, I can swoop in and save her like the nice guy I am. Everything's going according to plan . . . until we share a ridiculously epic kiss. And suddenly anything is possible.

I have a weakness for romances with friends-to-lovers and Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon hit the spot!

Eye Candy is about two best friends, Jackie and Vince. They share titles as vice-president at a marketing firm, they share pizza, beer and movie nights. They also share the fact they both are divorced and are gun shy about getting back into the dating world. Vince has done the “guy thing” and had a few one-night stands over the years to get over his ex-wife, but he is ready for more with his BFF, Jackie. She on the other hand has dragged her feet in the dating world and he doesn’t want to be her rebound.

Vince comes up with a plan to get Jackie out there dating again in hopes that she will see the sexy runner who runs by their office is not the guy of her dreams but Vince is. Here’s where the story gets interesting and long. The conflict is fun at first, but then it drags a little (for me). There’s a time when I want to slap both Vince and Jackie. They are clearly in love with each other, but their ex-spouses did a real number on them and they have a hard time over coming their issues. Understandable, but most of their problems could’ve been solved by a conversation. Most romance novels fall under this trope so I won’t hold it against Eye Candy.

In the end the besties get their “stuff” together to work toward a HEA. The journey from friends-to-lovers was enjoyable to read and these two have chemistry that burned up the pages once they were on the same page with their “relationship”.

Jessica Lemmon did a great job teasing me with Vince’s male BFF, Davis’ own issues with dating that I can’t wait to read his story in book 2, Arm Candy releasing September 5th 2017.

 

 

 

Excerpt 

VINCE

Admittedly, giving Jackie advice on how to get a guy to sleep with her is not my best plan.

“Okay, Butler,” I say, fully focused on Jackie now. “Let’s hear it.”

She stops scribbling on the napkin in front of her, and I bite back a smile. Since I’ve given her a few tips, she has been frantically taking notes. She’s a planner. I’ve always been more go-with-the-flow.

She reads over her notes, squinting in concentration, her lips moving as she reads. Then those golden brown eyes hit mine and she gives me a resolute nod. “I’m ready.”

Her tongue swipes pink lips, making them glisten and making me regret again the route I’ve chosen to take with her. Part of me concedes I could call it off and tell her what I really want, but I know her. She’s barely convinced she can ask a dude out, so her best guy friend throwing a date on the table would be an automatic no.

“Let’s see it,” I say, kind of excited to see what she’s come up with.

She takes the empty seat next to me and leans heavily on an elbow, fist under her chin. “Hi. I’m Jackie.”

I blink several times in quick succession at the transformation from my scatterbrained best friend to a gorgeous woman giving me bedroom eyes. She’s pretending. I’d do well to remember that.

“Vince,” I introduce.

She straightens in her chair and frowns. “Shouldn’t you pretend to be J.T.?”

“I’m not that good of an actor, Butler.” And I’m not pretending to be that jerk.

“Fine.” She rolls her eyes, then slides into seduction mode so swiftly I find myself impressed. She’s better at this than she’s let on. “Do you have a last name, Vince?”

“You know my last name, Butler.”

“Call me Jackie.” She gives me a slow bat of her lashes.

My smile is real, and when I lean closer, I don’t even do it on purpose. “Well, Jackie. Last names are irrelevant, don’t you think?”

Her chest lifts as she takes a breath, and I’m not shy about checking out her cleavage, exposed down the V of her shirt. Normally I wouldn’t look so obviously, but this is a game. Our game.

“That’s very assuming of you, Mr. No Last Name.” She quirks her lips in that way she has, and my smile broadens. “But let’s say”—she moves her half-full wineglass onto the cocktail napkin she wrote on—“for argument’s sake, you’re right, that last names are irrelevant.” She runs the tip of her finger along the rim of her glass like she’s doing it absentmindedly.

She’s doing it on purpose. I can tell.

Damn. She’s good.

“We should have a real date before making plans, don’t you think?” she asks, her eyes on mine.

“Yes.” Hell, yes. “Dinner, at the very least.”

“And then if dinner works out . . .” She lets that statement hang and my heart beats triple time as I wait for what comes next. “We can talk about dessert.”

“We can talk about dessert now.” I’m transfixed on her and the idea of exploring our new dynamic.

Ohmygod.” Her eyes go wide. “Would he say that?”

I give myself a mental shake when I realize I was caught up in the conversation. It was one I wanted to be real, and she was thinking about Running Man.

“Probably,” I say, the spell broken. “Guys are assholes. Like I said.”

I lean back in my chair, find a TV, and stare blankly.

“But if that’s the case, I’ll have to have sex with him sooner than I planned.”

“No, you don’t, Jackie.” I hear the anger in my own voice. Because . . . “You don’t have to have sex with anyone. You could go to drinks, dinner, and dessert with this guy—you could end the night with tonsil hockey on your front porch or his, and you can still say no.”

She purses her lips. I hate the idea of her kissing that jackass. No matter what kind of person he is—even if he’s a volunteer firefighter who raises orphaned squirrels so they can perform at the local senior center—I hate him.

“Tell me you know that,” I say.

“I know I don’t have to. That’s not what I meant. I don’t want to chicken out. I want to get the first one over with. Like you did.”

I tip my head back and groan aloud. I can’t help it. I’m the example for her return to the dating world? Much as I don’t want to admit it, fair is fair. I salved my wounds with girls like Polly, so why can’t Jackie do it with J.T.? Jackie’s my friend and I care about her. I can’t make a double standard now.

“Besides, he’s really hot,” she says, her face going glowy.

“Spare me.”

 

 


 

Giveaway

(a Mrs. Fields Mini Ribbon box ($19.99-$22.99 value) (U.S. only))
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Jessica Lemmon

A former job-hopper, Jessica Lemmon resides in Ohio with her husband and rescue dog. She holds a degree in graphic design currently gathering dust in an impressive frame. When she’s not writing super-sexy heroes, she can be found cooking, drawing, drinking coffee (okay, wine), and eating potato chips.


Madly by Ruthie Knox

Madly by Ruthie Knox

Posted March 16, 2017 by Anne in Book Review | 0 Comments

       Ruthie Knox is one of my favorite authors. I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read which is almost all, including by Robin York.  They are just amazing! But what does that mean and why do I enjoy them so much? It’s the everyday, real characters. They make me feel. They have problems and fears and do stupid and embarrassing things. I care about them; I hurt for them; I root for them. They make me laugh. The story is rich with various relationships and family issues creating an interesting, emotional journey. Madly is the follow up to Truly in the New York series. Truly was a free serial on Wattpad for a year before it was published. You can read my 5 star review here.  Madly […]


Wait For It by Molly O’Keefe

Wait For It by Molly O’Keefe

Posted February 15, 2017 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

    Tiffany Edwards is a 26-year old mother of three children under the age of seven and is separated from her abusive husband. Until recently, she lived in a dilapidated trailer in an equally squalid park but managed to make some very good friends. When her brother-in-law discovers her, Blake Edwards offers her money to disappear. Hurt and desperate, she takes the money and moves on. They have a chance meeting one year later when she shows up at Annie & Dylan’s Christmas party and it’s a game changer.   I’ve been hungering for this story since the last book ended on that Christmas party cliffhanger and it was definitely worth waiting for. Tiffany may have been down but she’s definitely not out. I […]


Anywhere You Are by Elisabeth Barrett

Anywhere You Are by Elisabeth Barrett

Posted September 21, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

    Grace Davingham is the daughter of a rock star and a supermodel who have a reality TV show. Two years ago she escaped the madness and landed in Eastbridge, living a life of solitude as a nature artist. She’s loved living her life on her own terms, even if it’s a bit lonely. Marc Colby couldn’t be more opposite. He’s a real estate investor from a wealthy, rather tight-lipped family. The odds of these two sustaining a relationship are pretty low but they bring out the best in each other.   Grace is so very aptly named as she’s very centered and clear about who she is and what she wants from life. She’s an absolutely lovely character who sees beyond Marc’s austere […]


Fiery! Slow Summer Burn by Elisabeth Barrett

Fiery! Slow Summer Burn by Elisabeth Barrett

Posted August 23, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 4 Comments

    This last book in the series slipped off my radar. What a mistake as it was one of the most interesting.   DEA Agent Val Grayson, the oldest of his three brothers, devoted his life to them after his father died in a storm when they were still in high school. He made certain they stayed out of trouble, are now leading productive lives and in committed relationships. Now that there’s nothing left for him to do, he’s taking a critical look at his own successful but lonely life. While he’s known boutique store owner Cameron (Cam) Stahl for awhile, he considers her out of his league as she comes from an old money Boston family. But, when they get an opportunity to […]


Just Lovely! Worth it All by Claudia Connor

Just Lovely! Worth it All by Claudia Connor

Posted May 9, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 0 Comments

    Eight years ago, JT McKinney lost his leg in a car accident and completely upended his plans for a football career and much more. He’s now the co-owner of a successful California-based company, far from his family in Virginia, but he’s living a lonely and solitary life…until he meets diner waitress Paige Roberts and her precocious 4-year old daughter, Casey. She and JT have a common bond.   If you’re looking for heartwarming and cuteness, you’ll love this story. I really appreciated how this was more about the slow development of Paige and JT’s relationship than the angst behind their circumstances. It was lovely to see the three of them (Casey is a huge part of the story) find their way to creating […]


Welcome Home, Cowboy by Annie Rains: Review, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Welcome Home, Cowboy by Annie Rains: Review, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Posted May 2, 2016 by Jonetta in Blog Tour, Book Review | 2 Comments

    Julie Chandler returned home to Seaside, North Carolina following a failed relationship that left her trying to find her way. She’s looking to develop a career based on her yoga instruction skills at the town’s Veterans Center. Lawson Phillips is an Army pilot mentally recovering from a devastating helo crash that’s left him struggling to fly again. He’s had his eye on Julie but it takes an interesting turn once she begins her yoga classes.   I liked the promise of this story, as well as both Julie and Lawson. What worked was the spotlight on not just the symptoms of PTSD but the therapies that seem to work. I also liked that there weren’t any shortcuts and Lawson had to do the […]


Sensual! Just Give Me a Reason by Rebecca Rogers Maher

Sensual! Just Give Me a Reason by Rebecca Rogers Maher

Posted April 4, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

    Tony Lopez is recovering from the ending of his marriage, struggling to save his business and working diligently to co-parent his two young daughters. When he meets Beth Cody, the single and pregnant best friend of Holly Ward, he’s struck by an indescribable connection that has him tongue tied. Months later when they meet yet again at the home his brother shares with Holly, Beth takes the initiative.   There’s a lot to admire about these two. Tony is such a good guy, trying to do right by everyone in his orbit, including his ex-wife. Beth is more of a free spirit who is fiercely independent and committed to not being in a committed relationship. They’re good together but she just doesn’t believe […]