Publisher: Tantor Audio

Series Audio Review: Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle

Posted November 3, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | | 3 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Series Audio Review: Experiment in Terror series by Karina HalleDarkhouse by Karina Halle
Series: Experiment in Terror #1
Narrator: Jo Raylan
Published by Tantor Audio on April 18th 2017
Genres: Paranormal
Format: Audiobook
Length: 8 hours
Source: Publisher
Audio | Goodreads
three-stars
one-flame

Take all the suspense and sexual tension of The X-Files, combine it with the charm and antics of Supernatural, and you get Darkhouse.

Well, not quite. Dex and Perry might have the chemistry of Mulder and Scully and the scares of the Winchester Brothers, but I promise you this duo is unlike anything you've seen before.

When twenty-three-year-old Perry Palomino explores a supposedly haunted lighthouse, she runs into Youtuber Dex Foray, a sexy, snarky and opportunistic ghost hunter who doesn't quite believe in ghosts. What Dex does believe in is making money and in Perry he sees a viable opportunity: create a ghost-hunting show on YouTube that would rival anything you'd see on TV and watch the dollars roll in.

But creating and filming a ghost-hunting show isn't easy when there are actual ghosts haunting them—and then some. Sometimes terrifying, often hilarious, Darkhouse is the first book in the Experiment in Terror series.

Darkhouse is a creepy and entertaining listen. Jo Rayland brings it home for me. Her voice is perfect for the characters and storyline of ghosts in a lighthouse.

I’ve had Darkhouse on my Nook for a couple of years after grabbing it when it was free. Many of my blogging buddies highly recommended it to me years ago. Why did I put it off for so long? Mood. Sometimes I’m a mood reader and I guess the mood hasn’t hit me to start the series. After seeing it was finally being published on audio and that Jo Rayland narrates I knew it was times to finally get into the Experiment in Terror series.

So the summary for Darkhouse boast “Take all the suspense and sexual tension of The X-Files, combine it with the charm and antics of Supernatural, and you get Darkhouse.” Not really. I use to watch The X-Files back in the day and Perry and Dex is no Scully and Mudler. They are for sure not Sam and Dean from Supernatural. There was pie eating scene but nothing like Dean. Then there’s the fact that Dex asks Perry to be a part of a new web based show similar to Ghostfacers features on Supernatural (but maybe not as cheesy).


The Ghostfacers theme song from episode 3.13 of Supernatural.
Darkhouse has the paranormal/supernatural elements but it’s something all itself. If I had to compare the first novel in the series to something else it’s more like a B movie in the horror genre. Not bad but not the best either, but there is potential for sure. It’s just creepy enough to be refreshing. Scary? No, not at all.

Sexual tension between Perry and Dex is there, but there’s a 10 year age gap. The fact that she is 22 and he’s 32 is a little much for me. At those ages 10 years is a huge difference. I’m not sold on them becoming a couple. Yet. Karina Halle might get me there by the end. We shall see.


Series Audio Review: Experiment in Terror series by Karina HalleRed Fox by Karina Halle
Series: Experiment in Terror #2
Narrator: Jo Raylan
Published by Tantor Audio on May 16th 2017
Genres: Paranormal
Length: 8 hours
Audio | Goodreads

In the forgotten town of Red Fox, a Navajo couple is tortured by things unseen and by motives unknown. Wild animals slink through their house in the dark, a barrage of stones pound their roof nightly, and mutilated sheep carcasses are turning up on their property. Armed with a camera and just enough to go on, Perry and Dex travel to the desolate locale, hoping to film the supernatural occurrences and add credibility to their flailing webcast. Only their show has a lot more working against them than just growing pains. Tested by dubious ranch hands, a ghost from Dex's past, and shape-shifting deception, the amateur ghost hunters must learn to trust each other in order to fight the most ancient of myths . . . or die trying.

 

While I’m still not sold on the “romance” between Perry and Dex I’m still enjoying the ghost story angle. Although in Red Fox the hunters are not dealing with ghosts but skin walkers.

I don’t know what is more confusing with this series. The creepy plot lines or the relationship between Dex and Perry. Perry has a school girl crush on the older Dex. He seems to be flirting with her at times then he remembers he has a girlfriend. Perry thinks she is alone in her interest and most times I think she is too. I’m just as perplexed by Dex as the heroine.

Maybe I’ll get some answers to the romance part in the next and last installment, Dead Sky Morning.

Jo Rylan was the perfect choice for the series. She has a great range when it comes to male and female voices. I love listening to her narrate ANYTHING.

 


Series Audio Review: Experiment in Terror series by Karina HalleDead Sky Morning by Karina Halle
Series: Experiment in Terror #3
Narrator: Jo Raylan
Published by Tantor Audio on June 20th 2017
Genres: Paranormal
Length: 10 hours
Audio |

With the Experiment in Terror show finding some success, amateur ghost hunters Perry Palomino and Dex Foray embark on their most terrifying investigation yet. A tiny, fog-shrouded island in the rough strait between British Columbia and Washington State has held a dark secret for decades: it was a former leper colony where over forty souls were left to rot, die, and bury each other. Now a functioning campground, Perry and Dex spend an isolated weekend there to investigate potential hauntings—but as the duo quickly find out, there is more to fear on D'Arcy Island than just ghosts. The island quickly pits partner against partner, spiraling the pair into madness that serves to destroy their sanity, their relationship, and their very lives.

 

Ok, I’m over the romance. I wanted to slap both Perry and Dex throughout the whole series. I feel like the romance angle should’ve been left out or made more. It’s the only thing I didn’t like about the series and it was the down fall of me loving the characters. With that aside I did enjoy the spooky stories and I think Dead Sky Morning was the creepiest story. Perry and Dex on a haunted island all alone. While if you don’t count the dead people on the island.

While I like Perry a little more than Dex, I loved Jo Rylan’s voice for Dex the best. I think if I had read the novels instead of listening I wouldn’t have like Dex at all.

 

If you’re in the mood for something a little different that may have you looking under the bed and don’t mind characters who need to be slapped then try Experiment in Terror series. I can’t recommend the audio enough. Jo Rylan is easily the best part of the experience.

About Jo Raylan

There is no shame in pleasure, or enjoying a hard-won happy ending.

Jo has extensive experience bringing the romance genre to life through her natural and intimate delivery, and commitment to the characters’ journey together.

Jo Raylan is known for engaging first person POV, credible delivery of male characters, delivery of suggestive humor, and deft handling of intimate scenes. Her voice has been described as “slow whiskey and chocolate,” and her work on the Submission series by CD Reiss was nominated for an Audie Award.

About Karina Halle

Karina Halle is a former travel writer and music journalist and The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Bestselling author of The Pact, Love, in English, The Artists Trilogy, Dirty Angels and over 20 other wild and romantic reads. She lives on an island off the coast of British Columbia with her husband and her rescue pup, where she drinks a lot of wine, hikes a lot of trails and devours a lot of books.

Halle is represented by the Waxman Leavell Agency and is both self-published and published by Simon & Schuster and Hachette in North America and in the UK.

Review Breakdown
Story (Plot)
three-stars
Writing
four-stars
Dialogue
three-half-stars
Characters
two-half-stars
Narration (Audio)
five-stars
Overall: three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Audio: Sugar Daddy by Sawyer Bennett

Audio: Sugar Daddy by Sawyer Bennett

Posted October 13, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

      Note: Sugar Daddy ends on a cliffhanger. Sela and Beck’s story continues in Sugar Rush and Sugar Free!   Listening to the first chapter of Sugar Daddy was one of the hardest things I’ve done in a while. Why? I requested Sugar Daddy for review on audio for the narrators alone. I love both Christian Fox and Lucy Rivers. I didn’t do much research into the title. I don’t think I even read the summary. So I didn’t know I was going to hear the heroine get gang raped. Granted the details were not as graphic as they could have been, mostly like due to the fact that she was so out of it from being drugged but it was still hard to […]


Deathtrap by Dannika Dark

Deathtrap by Dannika Dark

Posted October 6, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 3 Comments

Dark and Poole never fails! This author and narrator pairing is one of the best ones out there. Dark writes great characters and Poole is a master at bring them to life with her narration.   Deathtrap picks up shortly after Raveheart left off. Raven, Christian and the rest of Keystone group gets a new case to work that leads them to find out more about one of their team members, Shepherd. The case as a good one and the Shepherd is not the only one who has to deal with their past. Raven is still dealing with letting go of her human life. The best thing about the Crossbreed series is the banter between Raven and Christian. Their relationship is a long dance that has no […]


Audio Review: Mr. President by Katy Evans

Audio Review: Mr. President by Katy Evans

Posted September 29, 2017 by Jonetta in Book Review | 4 Comments

    Charlotte Wells, daughter of a US senator, met former President Hamilton and his son, Matt, when she was 11 years old and was immediately smitten with both of them. Fast forward eleven years and Matt Hamilton is running for president and invites the still crushing Charlotte to join his campaign. It doesn’t take long for these two to admit they both have strong feelings for each other. However, it’s not politically wise for the candidate to have a girlfriend when he’s this close to election day.   The story had such promise and I enjoyed the first half as we learned much about Charlotte and Matt, watching their attraction develop in the midst of an historic campaign. But once they gave into their […]


Series Catch Up: Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrain

Series Catch Up: Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrain

Posted September 22, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 3 Comments

  Bound to Darkness 3 Stars It’s been too long since I read the previous book. I was a little lost on the Opus Nostrum and the Atlanteans elements. Bound to Darkness is the second book in what I refer to as the Midnight Breed series 2.0. The newest books are about the adult children the first generation of heroes/heroines from earlier books had. So the series plot arc was wrapped up and a new one started for the Breed to deal with.  Bound to Darkness brought us closer to the new plot line for the series and gives us more of the “new” characters with a peak at old favorites. The romance between Rune and Carys was hot but it took back seat to the […]


Audio: The Hunt by Chloe Neill

Audio: The Hunt by Chloe Neill

Posted September 21, 2017 by Anne in Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | 34 Comments

  I love this author and I have loved this Devil’s Isle series from the start. Somehow, this is an audio series for me. The world and the character of Claire are something special. Claire is mature; she’s had to be, since she is on her own. Her skills and practical nature reflect her upbringing. In The Hunt, she learns much more about her family history as she works to help all the people in New Orleans, with or without magic.  She grows in her magic skills, and deals with new information. Even though she is a target, and more isolated with hiding, because of her magic, she makes a stand for what is right. At the end of The Sight, Liam leaves. For the […]


Audio Review: Love Me Again by Jaci Burton

Audio Review: Love Me Again by Jaci Burton

Posted September 18, 2017 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

    Review Loretta Simmons returns home to Hope, Oklahoma after her marriage collapses from a slow but miserable death. She’s determined to be independent, essentially raising her 9-year old daughter, Hazel, like a single parent. Things are awkward when the man she callously dumped for the man she married is renovating the building where her bookstore is housed. Deacon Fox keeps his distance but eventually life puts them on the same path.   The biggest conflict in this story is how Deacon and Loretta will resolve what happened between them as teens and that gets dealt with pretty early on. What remains is the slow building new relationship between the two of them, connected through Hazel who dazzles Deacon and he her. Add to […]


Audio: Crossbreed Series by Dannika Dark

Audio: Crossbreed Series by Dannika Dark

Posted September 12, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | 7 Comments

I love the team of Dannika Dark and narrator Nicole Poole. I’ve listened to Dark’s Seven series and own all of her Mageri series (which I will binge listen to by the end of the year). The Crossbreed series is part of the same world but you don’t have to have read/listened to the other series. I think reader who are familiar with one of all of the previous series will feel completely at home because you’ve been introduced to all the breeds in this series. New comers will still feel at home but without the back history of the world building involving the supernatural races Dark has made. Have no fear, Dark brings you up to speed on them without an information dump. Raven Black […]