Series: Lessons in Love

England’s Perfect Hero by Suzanne Enoch

Posted April 8, 2016 by Amanda in Book Review | | 1 Comment

England’s Perfect Hero by Suzanne EnochEngland's Perfect Hero by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Lessons in Love #3
Published by Avon on February 24th 2004
Genres: Historical Romance, Regency Romance
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Lucinda Barrett's best friends ended up married to the men to whom they delivered their "lessons in love." So Lucinda decides to choose someone who definitely needs lessons, but someone who will not complicate her life. And that person is definitely not Robert Carroway.

Robert is nothing if not complicated, and though he is the brother of a viscount, he rarely goes about society, and finds the weather and hat fashions ludicrous subjects for discussion. Robert is attracted to Lucinda's unpretentious ways, her serenity and her kindness. When she chooses someone for her love lessons, Robert offers to help her deliver her lessons, but sets out to convince the woman he has fallen for to take a chance on love...and on him.

England’s Perfect Hero is the final book within the Lessons in Love trilogy. Finally, we get Lucinda’s story. Personally, she was my favorite out of the three ladies that decide they needed to give lessons to some of the most notorious and handsome rakes in London. Only, Lucinda isn’t interested in complicating her life with marriage like her two friends. She wants to provide the lesson, but not get swept away. So, she doesn’t think much of it when Robert offers to help.

Robert Carroway was introduced in the previous book. He was quiet and all the reader really learns about his character is that he’s a war hero and a friend of the previously main characters. It was really interesting to see his character emerge and develop. He is a bit of a recluse and, what isn’t mentioned in the describe, he has PTSD. He has tremendous emotional strength and is every bit England’s perfect hero and practical Lucinda has no idea what she’s in for.

The romance was sweet, but a little slow building for me. I would have preferred a little more passion and the ending was a tad bit rushed, but overall it really was great story. Ms. Enoch captures the era wonderfully.

About Suzanne Enoch

A lifelong lover of books, Suzanne Enoch has been writing them since she learned to read. She is the author of two well-received Avon Regencies, The Black Duke’s Prize and Angel’s Devil, and five Avon Romances: Lady Rogue, Stolen Kisses, By Love Undone, Taming Rafe and Reforming a Rake. Born and raised in Southern California, Suzanne lives a few scant miles from Disneyland with her collection of Star Wars action figures and a Cairn terrier named Katie (after the heroine of her first Regency). She’s still looking for her own hero, and hopes he will be handsome, titled, and just a little wicked. Meanwhile, she’s currently at work inventing him in her next historical romance. (from Amazon)

London’s Perfect Scoundrel by Suzanne Enoch

London’s Perfect Scoundrel by Suzanne Enoch

Posted February 17, 2016 by Amanda in Book Review | 1 Comment

I read Suzanne Enoch’s Lessons in Love series years ago and forgot how much I enjoyed the characters. Evelyn Ruddick and her friends have devised a plan to reform on how to reform a rake. But being her brother’s political pawn, she never thought she has the opportunity to put her plan into action. Goodness knows she can’t do anything that would upset his political career. Evelyn’s character is super sweet, she had a great heart, and all wants to help those less fortunate than herself. Riding by the Heart of Hope Orphanage, she decides to dedicate her time to teaching the children – secretly, of course, since her brother would have a heart attack. Never did she suspect the owner of the orphanage would […]

The Rake by Suzanne Enoch

The Rake by Suzanne Enoch

Posted February 13, 2016 by Amanda in Book Review | 0 Comments

When I first read this trilogy, it was years ago. I recently re-read Lessons in Love and quickly remember how much I loved these books. The trilogy starts with The Rake and is a second-chance at love story, which I enjoy. It is a nice break from the norm – characters meeting and instantly falling in lust/love. Georgiana and Tristan have a rocky past, which leads Georgiana to develop a “club” with two of her friends (the subsequent heroines of the trilogy). The ladies decide they will write list of rules, ‘Lessons in Love,’ and implement them. Six years ago, Tristan played a cruel trick on Georgiana and broke her heart. Now, she is going to teach him a lesson. I enjoyed their snipping back […]