Series: Stark Trilogy

Review: Claim Me by J. Kenner

Posted May 16, 2013 by Jonetta in Book Review | | 7 Comments

Claim Me by J. Kenner
Series: Stark Trilogy #2
Published by Bantam Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Source: Publisher
Claim Me By J. Kenner
Contemporary Romance, Erotica
Stark Trilogy #2
I had some serious issues with the first book in this series, Release Me, primarily that it was tough to distinguish it from the Fifty Shades and Crossfire series. And, when I read it, there was no mention that it was part of a trilogy…very frustrating when you reach the end of a book and it doesn’t end. Lastly, the erotic elements of that story weren’t all that inventive.
Because of the incomplete ending, I was committed to giving the series at least one more book for redemption and it was a really good decision. It didn’t take long for the story to start moving down its own path, creating an identity all its own.
It starts where the last story ended, with Nikki continuing her arrangement with Damien, although by this time, the two of them are completely aware of the depth of their emotional connection. As much as Dom Damien makes claim on Nikki, she’s got just as much of a command of him. He’s still not opening up as fully with her as she’s been with him, but Damien makes it absolutely clear about what holds him back and what he’s doing to overcome it. I liked that there was balance in the relationship, both putting themselves at risk.

The storyline wasn’t predictable, meandering down its original path building intrigue and introducing new characters in the mix that begin to explain the enigma called Damien. Not everyone who’s supposedly close to these two is necessarily committed to their well being, which kept me engaged. I loved that I wasn’t certain where the clues would lead and the climax was startling but made sense, as much as it can without more details. The ending left me in a really good place and I’m excited to get to the final chapter.

Oh, and if the sexual encounters in the first story felt ho-hum or redundant, Kenner turned the heat up and created an inferno in this one. I will NEVER be able to look at or think of chocolate fondue the same way again. Damien didn’t lack creativity here and it was….you’re just going to have to read it for yourself.

Bravo for a really good turnaround in this series! I liked the story, the developing Damien, the bright, intelligent and interesting Nikki and loved their intimate moments that challenged my imagination. It’s worth the time. You won’t be bored and, if you’re like me, you just might learn something.
(I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher for an honest review)

About J. Kenner

J. Kenner spent more than ten years as a litigator in Southern California and Central Texas, using her rare free time to indulge her passion for writing. California born, she now lives—and writes—in Texas, with her husband and daughters.


Review: Release Me by J. Kenner

Posted December 27, 2012 by Jonetta in Book Review | 0 Comments

Release Me  By J. Kenner  Erotic Romance, Contemporary Romance  For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms. He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist. Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me. Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking […]