Series: Sullivan's Crossing

Any Day Now by Robyn Carr

Posted May 22, 2017 by Jonetta in Book Review | | 4 Comments

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Any Day Now by Robyn CarrAny Day Now by Robyn Carr
Series: Sullivan's Crossing #2
Published by Mira on April 18, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Fiction, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Amazon | B&N | Kobo | Goodreads

The highly anticipated sequel to #1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr's What We Find transports readers back to Sullivan's Crossing. The rustic campground at the crossroads of the Colorado and Continental Divide trails welcomes everyone—whether you're looking for a relaxing weekend getaway or a whole new lease on life. It's a wonderful place where good people face their challenges with humor, strength and love.

For Sierra Jones, Sullivan's Crossing is meant to be a brief stopover. She's put her troubled past behind her but the path forward isn't yet clear. A visit with her big brother Cal and his new bride, Maggie, seems to be the best option to help her get back on her feet.

Not wanting to burden or depend on anyone, Sierra is surprised to find the Crossing offers so much more than a place to rest her head. Cal and Maggie welcome her into their busy lives and she quickly finds herself bonding with Sully, the quirky campground owner who is the father figure she's always wanted. But when her past catches up with her, it's a special man and an adorable puppy who give her the strength to face the truth and fight for a brighter future. In Sullivan's Crossing Sierra learns to cherish the family you are given and the family you choose.


Sierra Jones has had a pretty troubled life and is now ready to pursue a more productive path. She decides to visit her brother, Cal, in Sullivan’s Crossing and what began as a short stopover turns out to be an indefinite stay.

This was a very compelling story as we followed Sierra’s journey to sustained sobriety. I learned so much about the realities experienced by those recovering from addictions, things we take for granted but are serious triggers for the addict. She was a pretty woman with a not so attractive history and her honesty about it all was admirable. I liked her caution about her developing relationship with firefighter and paramedic Conrad (Connie) Boyle, despite his wonderful personality and full court press to hurry things along.

The secondary storyline involving a more mature couple was also interesting, addressing the issues faced by single parents trying to provide for their families and have time for meaningful relationships. It was beautifully written.

The strong sense of community is an important element in this series and it resonated loudly in this story. There’s also a suspense aspect I really enjoyed, adding even more tension and conflict to an already complex set of issues. I really enjoyed this book, especially the nail biting climax as Sierra’s past returns in a terrible way. I’m looking forward to the return to Sullivan’s Crossing.

About Robyn Carr

After thirty-plus years of hard work, life is very, very good for the Las Vegas author who began writing when her two children were babies.

Robyn’s Virgin River and Thunder Point series, like her earlier Grace Valley books, are a blend of romance and women’s fiction—books that not only entertain but also address sensitive issues, such as domestic violence, health risks and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, anything that can compromise a woman’s happiness because she’s female. And there’s no denying that Robyn has a way with words. Her voice is unique and takes her readers into the hearts and minds of the brave men and women who have served in the military, into the families left behind, and into those who confront challenges head-in in their search for love and fulfillment.

After writing twenty Virgin River stories, Robyn is now taking her readers into another fictional community, a picturesque coastal town on the Oregon coast she calls Thunder Point. Like her Virgin River novels, the Thunder Point books will make readers laugh, sigh, and fall in love: with a small town filled with people they’ll never forget. In addition to 2013’s The Wanderer, The Newcomer and The Hero, Thunder Point novels on Robyn’s schedule are three 2014 titles, The Chance (March), The Promise (July), and The Homecoming (September).

Robyn and her husband enjoy traveling, often taking research trips together. Their son and daughter are grown. Robyn says that, in addition to reading her novels and making snide remarks about how she’s used family scenarios to her advantage, they have made her a happy grandmother.

What We Find by Robyn Carr

What We Find by Robyn Carr

Posted March 29, 2016 by Jonetta in Book Review | 6 Comments

    Maggie Sullivan returns to her father’s place at Sullivan’s Crossing to recharge after an extremely stressful period. She’s a neurosurgeon who’s being sued, her practice is being dissolved and her boyfriend just walked away. What starts as a plan to spend a few days seeking respite turns into a much longer search for grounding and what’s really important.   I liked this story that seems to meander without purpose until it finds one. Maggie is an interesting character who, despite all her issues, never loses her footing. Cal Jones is a man of mystery who stays at the camp well beyond his planned few days and they seem to be on parallel paths in their separate journeys. I also liked this unique community […]