Series: The Dining Club

Review: The Dining Club series by Marina Anderson

Posted October 17, 2013 by Jonetta in Book Review | | 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Dining Club series by Marina AndersonDesire by Marina Anderson
Series: The Dining Club #1
Published by Forever on August 20, 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Source: Publisher


You are invited to the Dining Club.
If you pass the challenges we set, a world of pleasure awaits you.

He is everything she never wanted: brooding, secretive, rich - and far-removed from her care-free artistic lifestyle. Yet David has a power over Grace that she cannot resist, a power that comes from his darker, passionate side.

And now he is ready to truly reveal himself. Inviting Grace to a weekend at the Dining Club, David offers her the opportunity to discover his deepest desires and to find pleasures far beyond her wildest imagination - but only if she if willing to play a series of sensual games.

Grace faces a choice: give in to her doubts and retreat to her quiet life, or truly embrace happiness with David and win over her mesmerising lover forever.



This is an eight-part serial that begins with Desire. Rather than bring you each short serial, I’ll review the first four and come back with the last books later. I don’t normally read serials, let alone one as long as this one but I tried the first two and thought I’d go for it.



Grace, an up and coming theater director has been in a relationship with David for six months. He invites her for a weekend getaway to a private club, the Dining Club.

This first installment is pretty intriguing. For a short story, it’s well written and totally mysterious. I’m very curious, enough to grab the next installment. I like Grace and David is an enigma at this point.

Job well done in 32 pages.


Bound #2
BoundGrace finds herself at the Dining Club and faced with her first introduction to post dinner activities. David is even more illusive and there’s still so much more to learn about him.

While the dessert scene was certainly erotic and smoldering, there was also something depraved about it as Grace’s participation is under duress as David makes it a condition of continuing their relationship. The club’s hostess, Amber, is so unlikeable and her presence is disturbing.

The romance is missing in this installment, and I think intentionally. It would bother me so much if I really felt Grace was having a good time but I didn’t get that impression even while her body was betraying her. I’m hoping to see her gain her confidence going forward.



CraveCrave #3
Grace returns for her second trial at the Dining Club and is inspired to persevere by Amber and someone else.

This was more about Grace’s self-awareness and personal discoveries. She’s still hampered by her fears and the jury is still out about David, though I did feel better about him in this story, which ends with a cliffhanger.



Seduce #4
As GrSeduceace prepares for the third trial, she becomes more introspective, focusing on her own feelings as opposed to just pleasing David. He, on the other hand, is grappling with the realization that he loves Grace. Now what?

Amber and Andrew’s roles may create a wedge in the whole mix. My money’s on Grace as she knows what Amber’s true motives are and is prepared for this schemer. Andrew cares about her too much to see her harmed and David is his friend.

The tables are turning here…I think! In any event, this story just got more intriguing. I’m going to wait for the sixth book before I read the next one because I have a feeling I won’t be able to tolerate that cliffhanger.