Source: Gift

Flesh & Skin by Kylie Scott

Posted December 1, 2017 by Jennifer in Book Review | | 4 Comments

Flesh & Skin by Kylie ScottFlesh by Kylie Scott
Series: Flesh #1
Narrator: Elena Wolfe, Ray Chase
Published by Macmillan Audio on 10-06-15
Genres: Erotic Suspense, Post Apocalyptic
Format: Audiobook
Length: 9 hours
Source: Gift
Audio | Goodreads
three-half-stars
four-half-flames

Ali has been hiding in an attic since civilization collapsed eight weeks ago. When the plague hit, her neighbors turned into mindless, hungry, homicidal maniacs.

Daniel has been a loner his entire life. Then the world empties, and he realizes that being alone isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Finn is a former cop who is desperate for companionship and willing to do anything it takes to protect the survivors around him.

When the three cross paths they band together; sparks fly, romance blooms in the wasteland, and Ali, Daniel, and Finn bend to their very human needs in the ruins of civilization. Lust, love, and trust all come under fire in Flesh as the three battle to survive, hunted through the suburban wastelands.

     
 

Hot sex with a side of zombie apocalypse, yes please!

Daniel and Ali meet by chance when she decided to come out of her hiding spot. There’s a fight and then one thing leads to another and they are working together to survive. Then there’s the hot sex. So what’s better than finding a new love interest, finding two.

After spending a couple of days watching Daniel and Ali, Finn steps up to help them out of a bad situation. They three run from a group of bikers who want to take Ali for theirs. The three get close and the sexual attraction between Finn and Ali is front and center with Daniel watching (literally).

Once they find safety from the bikers they find a small town of people (think Woodbury from The Walking Dead but not quite as evil). More dangerous, more melt you panties sex. Then a HEA for the threesome.

The real jewel of Flesh is finding a new favorite male narrator in Ray Chase! I already knew the joy of listening to Elena Wolfe but this was my first time listening to Chase. He voiced both Daniel and Finn’s POVs and he managed to make Finn sound different from Daniel when it was Daniel’s POV and vice versa for Finn when it was his POV.

 

 


Flesh & Skin by Kylie ScottSkin by Kylie Scott
Series: Flesh #2
Narrator: Elena Wolfe, Ray Chase
Published by Macmillan Audio on 10-06-15
Length: 8 hrs and 33 mins
Source: Gift
Audio | Goodreads
two-half-stars
four-flames

Six months since the zombie plague struck, former librarian Roslyn Stewart has been holed up in a school with eight other survivors. But now the shelves in the school canteen are bare. The stranger at the gate has supplies that will ensure the group's ongoing survival but at a cost. He wants a woman.

Nick is a man with a plan. He'll treat Roslyn like a queen, devoting the rest of his life to protecting and providing for her. In exchange, of course, for sexual favors. It's the deal of the century given the state of the world. But Roslyn doesn't see it that way. The first chance she gets, she attacks the ex-army man and attempts to escape, forcing Nick to contain her. And so begins his awkward courtship of the woman, with her chained to the bed for security reasons.

Chained like a dog and forced to spend her every waking moment with a creep, albeit a good-looking one, Ros is determined to escape. When circumstances force them to band together against a common enemy, their very survival depends on their ability to learn to trust each other. An uneasy partnership develops, but can a relationship with such a difficult beginning ever have a future? The hotly anticipated sequel to Flesh, Skin is set in the same universe with a different set of characters.

 

Skin is about a different “couple” in the same world as Flesh. We do get a peek at the main characters and a couple of secondary characters from Flesh in the last few chapters of Skin.

Flesh fell a little flat for me because of how the hero went about getting the heroine. He watched her from afar for a few weeks then set up a house for them and traded supplies to her group at the school she worked at before the zombie apocalypse hit. So of course she thought he was a bad guy and was going to rape her. He had no plans to hurt her but come on, it’s creepy the way he went about “saving” her from the asshole group she was with.

Their start kept me from really rooting for them to be a couple. I did root for them to survive but I wasn’t invested in their romance.

The love I had for Ray Chase’s narration work on Flesh was not the same for Skin. Don’t get me wrong, he still did a good job but because he only voiced one male POV I didn’t get to hear his different ranges for male characters. I really enjoyed that while listening to Flesh. So much so I was hoping at some point there would be a second love interest so another menage would happen just to hear more male voices. LOL So it’s not Ray’s fault, it’s Kylie Scott for not having another three some. (Just kidding)

Over all the series was a dirty, dark and sexy escape. It hit the mood I was in for a departure from contemporary romances I’ve been listening to lately.

 

 

“How could you have bought that girl, chained her up and yet still have managed to persuade her to give you a chance? I mean, how the fuck did you pull that off?”

About Kylie Scott

Kylie is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. She was voted Australian Romance Writer of the year, 2013 & 2014, by the Australian Romance Writer’s Association and her books have been translated into eleven different languages. She is a long time fan of romance, rock music, and B-grade horror films. Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet.

Review Breakdown
Narration (Audio)
four-half-stars
Overall: four-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Beautiful by Christina Lauren

Beautiful by Christina Lauren

Posted October 31, 2016 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

         First Christina Lauren wraps up their Wild Seasons series and now this one?! I have no doubt they have something awesome in the pipeline for their fans but I’m sad to see the Beautiful Bastard series end! Pippa and Jensen are connected to other characters in previous books. Pippa is friends with Ruby who ended up with Naill in Beautiful Secret and Jensen is Hanna’s big brother who ended up with Jensen’s best friend Will in Beautiful Player. We get to see both of these couples in Beautiful as they all take a fun road trip together. Jensen and Pippa agree to go on said road trip with the couples after they found out they wouldn’t be the fifth wheel. But once they find out […]


Terrific Start! Barefoot Bound by Roxanne St. Claire

Terrific Start! Barefoot Bound by Roxanne St. Claire

Posted July 7, 2015 by Jonetta in Book Review | 2 Comments

    Excellent set up for this series. As I’ve not read the Guardian Angelinos series (yet), I knew nothing about them or Gabe Rossi. Not only did I get a thorough introduction of the family, I also had my appetite deliciously whetted for what comes next with Gabe and his new business. And Nino! He’s fantastic and I can’t wait to see more of him.   I love that suspense is joining romance in this series and am excited to begin. The next story couldn’t be more intriguing.


The Unidentified Redhead by Alice Clayton

The Unidentified Redhead by Alice Clayton

Posted June 8, 2015 by Jennifer in Book Review | 5 Comments

      Read It, Track It is a way for me to track books for my reading challenges and they will be super short. I was on the fence about Keili Lefkovitz narration. I loved her performance for all The Unidentified Redhead once I let it go that she didn’t even try to change her voice for all the characters or tried to voice Jack with his British accent. Normally this would have bugged the shit out of me but Keili really was the right voice for the tone of the novel. The Unidentified Redhead is a no brain needed, fun, sassy and very sexy listen. I’ve not laughed or smiled so much while listening to a romance like I did with this one. Seriously I […]


Fall for Me by Sydney Landon

Fall for Me by Sydney Landon

Posted March 28, 2015 by Jennifer in Book Review | 0 Comments

Fall for Me is a story about Beth and Nick growing closer after being pushed together by their siblings dating (couple from the previous book, Not Planning On You). They’re relationship is built on hot sex and Beth not wanting to leave Nick into her heart because she just knows he’s going to leave her. She spends most of the book feeling she’s not good enough for Nick because he is so hot and she’s a former “fatty”. Because of Beth’s weight issues growing up and her cold-hearted parents she has very low self-esteem that puts her in danger. Fall for Me is a quick listen and don’t know if it was the writing but I think Allyson Ryan did a better job with Beth […]


Not so Mega! Burned by Karen Marie Moning

Not so Mega! Burned by Karen Marie Moning

Posted January 23, 2015 by Jennifer in Book Review | 8 Comments

     As much as I love Mac and Barrons I felt like their story was done. I wanted more Dani with a side of Mac and Barrons. BURNED read like should have come after SHADOWFEVER, IMO. I guess we needed ICED so that we knew more about Dani and to make us care about her. BURNED read like a filler of sorts. Way too much Mac (never thought I’d say that). I went into ICED wondering if I would like a story from Dani’s POV. I was surprise that I really enjoyed it and I think that’s because we got the Fever world but from other character’s POVs. Rydon is no Barrons but after listening to BURNED I really like me and see that he […]


New Fave Author & Narrator! Pax Arcana Series by Elliott James

New Fave Author & Narrator! Pax Arcana Series by Elliott James

Posted December 1, 2014 by Jennifer in Book Review | 9 Comments

  First Impression: YES! Just when I was drowning in romances and needed a great urban fantasy listen, CHARMING came into my life. Characters/World: CHARMING has a full cast of supernaturals from werewolves, vamps, Valkyrie and more. I’ve not read many books told from a male protagonist POV’s and I must say I’m really enjoying them. They are great for when I’m burn out on romances. I love the fact that CHARMING is written in first person so when Roger Wayne narrates John Charming’s story it’s like he is talking to me when I’m listening. I told someone who I thought John Charming is like a cooler Atticus from Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid Chronicles. I’d love to see these two guys hang out sometime. Narration: Roger […]


Another Hit from the Golden Team! Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Another Hit from the Golden Team! Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Posted November 1, 2014 by Jennifer in Book Review | 8 Comments

    There was little doubt that I would enjoy BURN FOR ME. Why? Let me count the reasons. 1. Ilona Andrews wrote it. Team of Ilona and Gordon Andrews writes some of the best Urban Fantasy out there! Their writing is imaginative with complex world building, strong heroines and yummy alpha males. And just plain fun to get lost in. 2. Renée Raudman is the narrator. Renée narrates all of Andrews’ books (so far) and she’s the reason I didn’t read the eARC. I had to wait for the audio. Renée is the cherry on top of the hot, gooey goodness that is Andrews’ writing.   3. Great Characters Like I said above, the heroines and heroes are always fun within an Ilona Andrews’ world. But they […]